Blessed Assurance

January 23, 2015


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

I have written this to you who believe in the name of the Son of God, so that you may know you have eternal life.

~I John 5:13, NLT

QUOTE

Faith is the assurance that the thing which God has said in His word is true, and that God will act according to what He has said in his word.

~George Mueller

my thoughts red

Do you struggle with assurance? Do you have bouts with doubts? Do you worry for fear that things may not  turn out right? We all want a happy ending, right! A woman in Orange County, California had been passing a particular church building for years and then one Sunday she decided to attend. It was a big church that seats 3,000 people. She did not know a soul so she went a little early and found her a seat in the middle of the auditorium. She got into the service to the extent that she really did not pay that much attention to who was sitting next to her. At the benedictions, the isles were packed with people so she decided to savor the moment and remain in her seat. Then she noticed a young woman near her sitting quietly in the pew. She spoke to the young woman, “This is my first time here and I really enjoyed it, what about you?” The young lady said, “It’s my first time also.” The older lady said, “You are not from California, are you?” The young lady said, “No, I am from the Mid-West, I came here in search of my birth mother.”

We will call the older lady Mavis and when Mavis heard the phrase birth mother, she swallowed hard. “You’ve been thinking about this a lot haven’t you,” said Mavis. The young lady confessed that she had. Mavis did some confessing herself, after getting the young girls name, she said Cheryl, I gave my baby girl up for adoption 25 years ago and I’ve always had doubts if I did the right thing.” She said, “In a way, I am as troubled as you.” Cheryl said, “I am 25, what is your girls birth date?” Mavis said, “October 30.” Cheryl said, “October 30 is my birthday.”

Long story short: Cheryl was Mavis’ daughter. It was a miraculous reunion. Let this be a reminder, God loves you. Even though there are 7 billion people on planet earth, He knows exactly where you are and he even knows how you feel. He has a plan for you and it is all going to work out in the end. Trust Him!

extra 2

  • Today we pray for FAMILIES.
  • We got home [1120 Ironman] a little before 1:00 and I ran by the office and then began visiting. I had a good visit with Kenny and the boys. Every moment is precious. Judy Davis had Gall Bladder Surgery but she is at home doing well. Larry Garner had his last Chemo treatment last week and is felling pretty good. He’s not any where near 100% but he is better.
  • The Senior Adult Fellowship is not today, it is next Friday, January 30 at 11:30 in the Parlor. We are having June Daphney’s famous home made rolls. Mandy is baking a ham and doing Apple Dumplings. Big Mama is whipping up some mashed potatoes and a batch of green beans. Your option is a dessert or a vegetable.
  • When we left Mobile yesterday morning, I had on crocs and a T-shirt and it was 68 degrees. When we got to Hartselle, it was overcast and 48 degrees. We had shirt sleeve weather all four days in Mobile. I came in about dark last night and we were having a cold rain that felt close to what we had the other day.
  • SUNDAY is a full schedule: Deacons at 8:15, LCBS at 9:15, Worship at 10:15 and 6:00. LORD willing we will have donuts and biscuits.
FRIENDS

FRIENDS

Leave a Reply

