Hello World

January 10, 2015


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

“But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you; and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.”

~Acts 1:8, NASB

QUOTE

“The real voyage of discovery consists of not in seeking new landscapes but in having new eyes.”
~Marcel Proust

my thoughts red

How big is your world and how far do you see beyond the horizon? For some the world is a tiny place. Charles Allen tells the story of a New York City shop keeper who never ventured beyond his apartment, the subway to his work, the shop and back to his apartment. He lived in New York City his entire life and never saw Times Square, the Statue Of Liberty, Broadway, Central Park or the Empire State building.

The word that Jesus used in Acts 1:8 is ‘eschatos’ from which we get our word ‘eschatology,’ a study of the end times. Eschatos not only refers to time but also to space. In Acts 1:8 Jesus is talking about space, the end place or the last place. NASB translates it ‘remotest’ and the AV says ‘uttermost parts.’ One thing is certain, Jesus was looking beyond Jerusalem and the Holy Land.

Some of us are like the guy who got to live out his dream. He acquired his own radio station but he could only afford 100 watts of power which gave him a 5 mile radius. Similar to the ESPN station 1400 AM out of Decatur. On his first broadcast he came on with this introduction: “Hello World.” Little did he understand the smallness of his world. There are 7 billion people out there and all need Jesus. We have a two fold problem: we are not seeing the world [ends of the earth] that Jesus saw and we are not seeing it the way Jesus saw it.

extra 2

  • Today we pray for Students. This week went in a hurry: I can’t believe it is SATURDAY.
  • Wow, warm front came in yesterday. It got up to 38 which was not bad in the sun. Compared to Wednesday and Thursday, it felt warm.
  • June and I had a great-great niece born yesterday, Emma Lee Grace Lock. I think this makes 6 great-great for us.
  • Full slate this Sunday: Deacons at 8:15 [we need 8 deacons in ties and jackets Sunday am], LCBS at 9:15 and Worship at 10:15 and 6:00.
  • I’m pretty sure our church directory pictures are coming up this week. Mandy will update us Sunday.
  • There will be no Deacon’s meeting on January 18. LORD willing, June and I will be in Grand Bay, Alabama January 18-21 in REVIVAL. We could use some prayer. Actually, we could use a lot of prayer.
  • I got to visit for a few minutes with Kenny yesterday. Every visit is precious to me. Please say a prayer for Kenny. Just stop right now and breathe a prayer for Kenny Holladay. Kenny wants to live but he is very prepared for the transition. A prayer from you will not hurt a thing so lift one up.
  • Debbie Gilliland’s mother, Mary Wilborn, is recovering from hip surgery in DGH. Hal Lanely is in HH.
  • I need to visit today and I also need to study…pray for the LORD to direct me.
A CARDINAL IN THE SNOW

A CARDINAL IN THE SNOW

LCBS PREVIEW

The Shelter of God’s Protection

Key Question or Ice Breaker: What causes some people to be more fearful than others?

Psalm 91{The Soldiers Psalm}

Those who live in the shelter of the Most High
will find rest in the shadow of the Almighty.
2 This I declare about the Lord:
He alone is my refuge, my place of safety;
He is my God, and I trust him.
3 For He will rescue you from every trap
and protect you from deadly disease.
4 He will cover you with his feathers.
He will shelter you with his wings.
His faithful promises are your armor and protection.
5 Do not be afraid of the terrors of the night,
nor the arrow that flies in the day.
6 Do not dread the disease that stalks in darkness,
nor the disaster that strikes at midday.
7 Though a thousand fall at your side,
though ten thousand are dying around you,
these evils will not touch you.
8 Just open your eyes,
and see how the wicked are punished.
9 If you make the Lord your refuge,
if you make the Most High your shelter,
10 no evil will conquer you;
no plague will come near your home.
11 For he will order his angels
to protect you wherever you go.
12 They will hold you up with their hands
so you won’t even hurt your foot on a stone.
13 You will trample upon lions and cobras;
you will crush fierce lions and serpents under your feet!
14 The Lord says, “I will rescue those who love me.
I will protect those who trust in my name.
15 When they call on me, I will answer;
I will be with them in trouble.
I will rescue and honor them.
16 I will reward them with a long life
and give them my salvation.”

  1. Three words for God in verse 1-2…Most High which speaks of the highest rank,  Shadday, the Lord God Almighty and Yahweh, the great I AM, the eternal, self-existent never changing One and creator of all things.
  2. The Psalmist testimony–“He alone is my refuge, my place of safety
  3. Note the He is…He will verses
    • He alone is my refuge
    • He is my place of safety 
    • He is my God, and I trust him.
    • He will rescue you from every trap
    • He will protect you from deadly disease
    • He will cover you with his feathers
    • He will shelter you with his wings
    • His faithful promises are your armor and protection.
  4. Things we want to be protected from…
    • Terrors of the night
    • The arrow that flies in the day
    • The disease that stalks in darkness
    • The disaster that strikes at midday
    • Though a thousand fall at your side
    • thousands dying around you

  5. The Promises….
    • No evil will conquer you
    • No plague will come near your home
    • He will order his angels to protect you wherever you go.
    • You will trample upon lions and cobras
    • You will crush fierce lions and serpents under your feet
  6. The LORD’s I wills…
    • I will rescue those who love me.
    • I will protect those who trust in my name.
    • I will answer when they call
    • I will be with them in trouble
    • I will rescue and honor them
    • I will reward them with a long life

QUESTIONS FOR DISCUSSION

[1] QUESTION: What is meant by the term “Helicopter Parent?”

[2] QUESTION: Is self-preservation a real viable human instinct or is it a myth?

[3] QUESTION: Some people are dare-devils, they take foolish risk; others are too fearful to take any risk. How do we achieve the proper balance between recklessness and insecurity?

[4] QUESTION: What are the dangers of recklessness? What are the dangers of fearfulness?

[5] QUESTION: How can we reconcile the reality of suffering and death with the truths in these verses?

INSIGHTS TO TAKE WITH YOU

  1. The basis of our comfort is in His word: why not commit some scriptures to memory that reassure you that God is your protector.
  2. Actively pray and ask for and accept God’s protection. An umbrella can protect us from the rain if we stay under it. If we stay under the will of God, we have more protection. At least we have the confidence that comes from being obedient.
  3. Keep a journal, make a note of things God does in order to protect you.
  4. Look around: do you have a friend that is suffering from disease, terror, death, adverse circumstances or some of the other things that cause fear? What can you do to help? Do it!

Leave a Reply

