Give Them Heaven

January 9, 2015


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

But they {Abraham and Sarah} were looking for a better place, a heavenly homeland. That is why God is not ashamed to be called their God, for he has prepared a city for them.

~Hebrews 11:16, NLT

QUOTE

Heaven is not a better place, it is the best place.

~ Timothy Ray Keenum

my thoughts red

Dallas Willard, the late great USC professor and author’s parting words to his granddaughter were, “Honey, give them heaven.” I don’t know what heaven will be like but I think C.S. Lewis is as close as any: it will be an eternity of going deeper and further as we get to know our infinite Savior. Here on earth, our good days are too short and are bad days or too long but there are no bad days in heaven. No tears, no death, no sorrow, no sin, no temptation, no pressure, no IRS or EPA; no long painful nights just one endless joyous day. No more goodbyes just one eternal hello.

The bible refers to Abraham as our Father in the faith for good reasons. Abraham understood clearly what most see vaguely, we are sojourners, strangers, pilgrims passing through. This world is not our home. Abraham lived in time but was focused on eternity. He was content to live in a tent because he believed in a city made by God. What do you believe in? What matters most to you?

extra 2

  • Today we pray for FAMILY.
  • Had a good visit with Kenny yesterday but he is still in discomfort but he did feel like talking for a bit. It is a visit that I would not take anything for. I consider Kenny a dear friend.
  • Speaking of friends: how amazing! June called all the kids last night to tell them to leave their water dripping and she forgot to leave ours dripping and it froze. It did not unthaw until I got home and of course, I go to the road and cut it off. I wanted a shower so bad because I usually crash on Thursday. She said, “Call Gregg!” I said, “I am not calling Gregg tonight. This same thing has happened to 50 families and they are not going to be able to fix this water tonight.” So she was intimidated and dropped the subject: yeah, right! As Mylee would say, “Seriously!” She said, “You could call and get in line.” I said, “If he is in my phone, I will call, otherwise, I am not calling him tonight” [4:45]. Gregg was in my phone and I called and got a voice mail so I left a brief message. I sit down with Chloe Bug and in less than 10 minutes someone is at the door. Ten minutes later we have water. They have this new blue pipe that works like magic. The man looked at me and said, “I don’t know you but evidently you are a very good friend of Greggs.” Hey, I just talked about friends last night. Thank you Jesus for friends like Gregg. I walked in the house and you know who said, “I told you to call tonight, didn’t I? See there we have water because…” that’s where I chimed is and said, “…Because you kept nagging.” {She says now, that she’s going to write a blog. Don’t worry she never reads them twice}
  • The high inside the office yesterday was 62*. Shohn never removed her coat and cap.
  • GOLDEN GIRLS HAS BEEN CANCELED…Too cold for them, just right for me!
  • I’m disgusted with network TV. I stopped watching Blue Blood because they were promoting homosexuality which means I was down to one show a week, PERSON OF INTEREST. I thought I liked the two women on the show but last night they kissed each other on the mouth. Made me sick! So I guess I am down to no shows.
Hal and Henry

Hal and Henry

Leave a Reply

