In Any Case

January 6, 2015


 

Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

In any case, it was kind of you to share my distress.

~Philippians 4:14, NRSV

QUOTE

Let your heart feel for the afflictions and distress of everyone, and let your hand give in proportion to your purse.

~George Washington

my thoughts red

Philippians 4 is a wonderful chapter, one of my favorite in all the word of God. In this great chapter Paul says…

  • Rejoice in the LORD always and again I say rejoice.
  • Don’t worry about anything but pray about everything.
  • Think on things worthy of praise and the peace of God will be in you.
  • I have learned to be content in any and all circumstances.
  • I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

Wow, what a fantastic list of exhortations. After saying all these wonderful things, Paul says, “In any case, it is kind of you to share in my distress.” The word distress is the Greek word ‘thlipsis’. It is one of the few Greek words that I recognize. It is the word used for pressing the juice out of the grapes. It literally means under pressure and is translated tribulation, oppression and distress. I like the NRSV translation here as distress. Distress is suffering that affects the mind or body due to a difficult situation in which you do not have enough money, food, energy or resources. It just so happened that the Philippians revived Paul’s depleted bank account. They shared his distress.

Even the Apostle Paul with his tremendous faith in Jesus felt distress at times. The same man who exhorts us not to worry about anything also felt the pressures of daily living and welcomed the relief that came to him in an act of kindness from the Philippian Church.

Do you feel the pressure? Jesus uses this same word ‘thlipsis’ in John 16:33, “These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation {thlipsis}; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.”

extra 2

  • Today we pray for School Teachers: it is their first day back after the CHRISTMAS BREAK. The only bad thing about the CHRISTMAS BREAK, it doesn’t last long.
  • My Nephew Henry Eugene Bailey  was promoted yesterday morning [Jan. 5] around 7:00 am. Henry would have been 53 this February 22. Henry was born in Dennison, Texas while his Dad was in the Air Force. I have a good story about our first trip to see Henry. I’ll put it on My Stories. His COLS is tomorrow {Wednesday} at Sardis Springs at 1:00. Henry’s frail body will be buried on the land that was a part of our family farm when I was a boy. His battle with a very mean and vicious enemy {cancer} is over. Henry has VICTORY IN JESUS forever!
  • We got all the CHRISTMAS decorations down and stored. It will not be long until Lexi unplugs my last outside tree. I don’t want my neighbors out doing me but Lexi usually takes care of it. They leave their lights up to the middle of January but Lexi is having no part of that. We also got the JANUARY 2015 DIGEST to Alabama Mail and we went to see Kenny. He was not having a good day and I did not get to talk with him. He has a doctor’s appointment Wednesday. Pray for Kenny. Stop reading and pray for him now.
  • It is official: June and I {Lord willing} will be going to Grand Bay January 17-22. This includes two travel days. We will be working with Bro. Teddie in REVIVAL. I pray that 2015 will be the year of Revival in America and I would love to see it break out in Grand Bay and spread all across the USA. We also go to Sardis Springs February 15-18 for the Winter Bible Study. God is good!
  • First day of diet went pretty good: I switched to Atkins when I got home and ate a pound of meatloaf but no bread or carbs. We had black bean burritos for lunch and it was good. Black beans, spinach, brown rice, yogurt and salsa, 280 calories. There is no way I could have taken in more than 1500 calories today but I still feel fat.
  • Big Mama says we have 60 hours of sub-freezing temperatures coming this week.
COLD WEATHER IS COMING

COLD WEATHER IS COMING

Leave a Reply

