Promise Keepers, Not!

January 2, 2015


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

Preserve and protect the people you have chosen, the nation you made so strong. We will never turn away from you again; keep us alive, and we will praise you.

~Psalms 80:17-18, GNT

QUOTE

There are three rules in relationships: don’t lie, don’t cheat and don’t make promises you cannot keep.

~Source Unknown

my thoughts red

I was reading Psalm 80 yesterday and I got the impression that the Psalmist was upset with God over Israel’s circumstances. The author is Asaph who was David’s chief praise and worship leader. Asaph accuses God of feeding Israel with tears and sorrow; He has made them a reproach to their neighbors and broken down the wall of protection. Asaph makes the promise that if God will restore protection and blessing that Israel will be faithful and never turn away from Yahweh again.

It reminds me of Peter’s solemn promise in Matthew 26:33, “I will never leave you, even though all the rest do!” Ironically, Jesus knew that Peter could not keep this promise and He loved him anyway. Sometimes when the circumstances are bad we make rash promises and we blame God for our circumstances. All anger and misery is directed toward God.

You may question the above thought and that’s OK but as soon as this insight popped into my mind, I thought about the elder brother in Luke 15. He was angry with his circumstances but who was the object of his anger. Was he mad at his little brother who came home ragged and broke? No, he was angry at his father for showing mercy to his brother.

The elder brother had no right to be angry with his father and neither did Israel with Yahweh. Our circumstances, for the most part, are a product of our rebellion.

extra 2

  • Today we pray for FAMILY and if you don’t have one on your heart I can give you some suggestions. Kenny rested Wednesday night and he and I watched the 1st half of the Auburn game yesterday. He is still in pain and not able to eat anything. Please pray for my noble friend! I also have a Nephew in Athens Limestone Hospital who is in a similar condition. He is in his early 50’s. His name is Henry Eugene Bailey. He has had a rough week: actually, a rough year.
  • It is not a good time to be an SEC West fan. There is a lot of pressure on Alabama, too much. I haven’t had a chance to watch the ROSE bowl but it appears that Oregon is going to win. I am predicting an Ohio State-Oregon Championship. Do I want to be wrong? Yes! Do I think that I am wrong? No! Call me superstitious but I think the SEC West is snakebite. I may not even watch the game. Auburn fans, you never want me to pull for you: every time I do, you get beat. I don’t know what will happen after I post this blog: but up to this point Ole Miss has been the biggest disappointment and Arkansas has been our only star in the sky.
  • Heard Big Mama yell: Winston fumbled and the Duck ran it in: 45-20. I predicted this one to go down to the wire, looks like I am wrong again. If I were you, I would not bet on football.
The Ultimate Alabama Fan

The Ultimate Alabama Fan

I

Leave a Reply

