Having A Bad Day

January 1, 2015


 

 

 

Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

Life is always hard for the poor, but the right attitude can turn it into a party.

~Proverbs 15:15, ERV

QUOTE

Life is ten percent what happens to you and ninety percent how you respond to it.

~Chuck Swindoll

my thoughts red

I went to the office to work on the DIGEST and then visiting but I was watching the clock or so I thought: I wanted to see Ole Miss beat the crap out of TCU so the Frogs would quit croaking. One problem, Ole Miss was pitiful. They were not prepared to play. Vanderbilt would have given TCU a better game. So I am thinking, “What is the world am I going to blog tonight?” Then I thought; I will do a devotion on ‘having a bad day.’ According to my concordance, ‘bad day’ is not in the bible. Day is and bad is but not together.

What do you do when you are having a bad day? If it is in football, I guess you keep punting or returning their kickoffs after they score. If you are a preacher expecting to see an SEC team beat up on an opponent, you put your jacket on and go outside and take down your Christmas decorations. I never take them down until after New Years but I have to tell you, taking down the decorations was far more fulfilling than watching Ole Miss get their brains bashed. By the way, it was 21-0 when I got home to watch. June warned me, “You do not want to watch it.” She was right again!

What’s the moral of the story? I think there are more than one.

  1. Never underestimate your opponent–I hope the Alabama/Auburn/State guys were watching Ole Miss embarrass the conference. Who can be more physical than Ole Miss? TCU! You gotta-want-it-to-win-it and TCU wanted it bad.
  2. Life is not predictable. It never entered my mind that TCU could totally dominate Ole Miss. We do not know what tomorrow holds. Wow, what a shocker. Makes you wonder about today! What’s going to happen tonight? Don’t know!
  3. Football, in the grand scheme of things, is not that important: forget it and do something productive. That what I did yesterday and I hope I respond the same way today.

extra 2

  • Today we pray for those having TRIALS and that would certainly include the Holladay Family. Kenny was resting yesterday and they plan to reduce his feeding; hoping that will stop some of the pain. One thing to be thankful for is his care givers. They are good! Right now, I don’t know of anything we can do other than pray.
  • Got a riddle for you: What does it mean when you make three visits, type on a computer, take down Christmas decorations [hour and half at most] and you are worn out? It means you are dlo
    .
  • It looks like the Dogs are going down also: Maybe Auburn can turn things around tomorrow. LSU laid and egg; Ole Miss got their brains beat out and Mississippi State could not stop the triple option. I don’t think Tech punter was ever on the field.

 

Happy-New-Year-2015-Greetings-Download

Leave a Reply

