Unconditional Love

December 29, 2014


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

But the time is coming—indeed it’s here now—when you will be scattered, each one going his own way, leaving me alone. Yet I am not alone because the Father is with me.

~John 16:32, NLT

QUOTE

Whatever the reason for your broken intimacy with God, there is good news. Jesus waits to embrace you now in the arms of unconditional love.

~Charles Stanley

my thoughts red

Jesus was preparing His disciples for His departure. He told them plainly, “I am leaving this world and going back to the Father.” The disciples affirmed their faith by saying, “We know that You know all things and you don’t need anyone to tell you anything; this makes us trust that You came from God.” “So now you believe,” said Jesus, “In just a little while you will be running for cover, each man looking out for himself and you will leave me alone.” [JEV]

Junior HillSo, Jesus knew in advance that His disciples could not be counted on; that they would surely fail and yet He never stopped loving them. Can God the Father love us as much as He loves His only begotten? One thing you must remember: the degree of His love is not determined by anything you and I do or do not do. We have no influence over His character or attributes. He is who He is and we have nothing to add or subtract. If our behavior determined the degree of His love: it would exalt us and diminish Him and trust me folks, this is not going to happen.

Junior Hill wrote me a note of encouragement a couple of years ago and I remember the first line and the first line only: “Dr. Jack, I love you and there is nothing you can do about it.

extra 2

  • Today we pray for Ministers and Missionaries.
  • It was good to have Allen Blackwood with us yesterday. He is about to transfer to a school in California. I sure could use his technical assistance. He is a computer wiz.
  • Pray for Kenny Holladay: he did not have a good day yesterday. He has been in constant pain and discomfort: so much so that the family has asked me to encourage you to pray but not visit. That window has closed. I hate to be the bearer of bad news but he does not feel like having company.
  • I was getting ready for our LCBS party last night and I put on my leather boots and was doing a little tap dance in the kitchen while June was getting ready in the bathroom. She said, “What are you doing?” I said, “I’m doing a little tap dance.” She said, “You need to lose about 75 pounds if you’re going to tap dance.” Oh my that hurt: I ate only one Reuben sandwich at CB last night because I was so upset. I weigh 215 minus 75  would put me down to 140 which is border line anorexia. I weighed 140 in the 9th grade. This is the same women who told me just a few years ago that I was “Pear shaped” and a candidate for a heart attack. Also the same woman who told me on our first date that I did not know one musical note from another. Willard and Jason would agree with her on that one. I cannot question her friendship, she is brutally honest. She said that she was putting me on a diet next week and I said, “Sure you will and then you will bake a cake to test my resolve.”
Leave a Reply

