Ebenezer Scrooge, Alive and Well!

December 24, 2014


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

“They will throw their money in the streets, tossing it out like worthless trash. Their silver and gold won’t save them on that day of the LORD’s anger. It will neither satisfy nor feed them, for their greed can only trip them up.

~Ezekiel 7:19, NLT

QUOTE

Be careful and guard against all kinds of greed. Life is not measured by how much one owns.

~Jesus

my thoughts red

I ran to Ma Krogers yesterday morning to get June some eggs and bleach. While there I bumped into one of Morgan Counties multi-millionaires. I ran in to get the eggs and bleach and I never looked at a price. I go to the cashier and he says $5.34 or something and I said, “Is that all”...didn’t seem like much for 30 eggs and a gallon of bleach. Then as I am leaving, there stands this millionaire at the service desk. I greeted him and said, “What’s the problem?” He said, “The sign back there said two for one and they just charged me for both.” I wished him a Merry Christmas and departed. I left Krogers and walked over to the bank and then as I was getting in the car to leave, I notice him going back into the store.

I don’t have time to haggle over a few dollars. Besides, I never look at the price of anything at Krogers, I just get it and if I can’t pay for it, I carry it back. I laughed as I drove out of the parking lot, these people have been bitten by the greed bug and they can’t help themselves. The love of money can make a fool out of a person. They don’t seem to understand, in the world to come, their money will be worthless. As Ezekiel said, “It will be as worthless as trash in the streets.” I’d rather visit the sick, deliver cakes and spend time with old friends. Greed will not only destroy your Christmas; it will destroy your soul and any potential of ever having a Merry Christmas. 

Never feel sorry for those of us who can’t buy you a cup of coffee: pity all who put their trust in money.

extra 2

  • Today we pray for the WORLD. What about peace on earth and good will among men: not a bad request, is it? Let’s pray for the Jewish people to see the LIGHT of Christmas. We could use their help in getting the gospel to the WORLD. Jews are wired different: we get a bunch of Paul’s out there and they will get the job done.
  • I did not have the day I expected and did not make my appointed rounds so I am going to try again today: please pray that I follow the Spirit.
  • Katie and Preston did not come home, I could not get a report on Kenny and got home too late to visit. I had several delays yesterday. Got caught in a rain storm and had to slow down to 70 MPH [Kidding, more like 55]. It was raining cats and dogs. Then got caught at the Doctor’s office for three and a half hours. June met me there to make sure I didn’t leave. I waited two hours last time and then got up and left but I am out of medicine and I did not have a choice this time. Even June got impatient this time.
  • Todays schedule: Breakfast at T’s, Huntsville, Ardmore, Athens, Kenny’s and the Communion Service. I dread going to Huntsville on Christmas Eve. 
  • DO REMEMBER, COMMUNION TONIGHT AT 6:00. It will be candlelight featuring Josh Groban, O Holy Night and Silent Night. Probably 20 minutes but it will be edifying to the soul. Join Us!

Christmas-Comic-037

Christmas-Comic-040

Leave a Reply

