Encouragement At Christmas

December 21, 2014


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

Brothers and sisters, we urge you to warn those who are lazy. Encourage those who are timid. Take tender care of those who are weak. Be patient with everyone.
~I Thessalonians 5:14

QUOTE

Encouragement is awesome. It can transform another person’s day, week, or life.

~Chuck Swindoll

my thoughts red

We get several cards during the holidays and appreciate every single one of them. You know you are getting old when you begin appreciating cards. June could not read this one without weeping. It comes from a man who has sent us a card for the past 40 years. You do not know the man. He is not a Danvillite.

Jack, I do not have words to express my feelings of love for you and your family. I thank the LORD often for sending you into this world and to help and comfort people. I pray for you and your family to have good health and happiness. God bless you all.

Three things: [1] You would have to know the man to appreciate the message and there is nothing I can do about that but the second thing, you can relate to and the third also. I confess this [2] with shame: it may be the first time I’ve received a card in my lifetime where I was more enthralled with the message in the card than the money. Sad and pathetic I know but it is the truth. [3] A few hours after getting the card and looking at it several times, I went and spent some time with Kenny Holladay. He was not having a good day nor has he had a good week. He had to gather his strength to talk to me. We had one of those conversations that I cannot have with most people. Most of us think we are going to live another 50 years and we are not, but we think we are. I hate cancer. I don’t do this often but I am asking you to pray for Kenny: he is in pain. Just stop reading and pray. Thank YOU!

extra 2

  • Light schedule today: Deacon’s and wives at 8:55, LCBS at 9:00 and Worship at 10:15. I think we will probably do something out of the box so be prepared. Choir, I want you to sit together in the area where Jason and Mandy sit, that is when you go down. You will know what to do when the time comes, just follow the Spirit.
  • No services tonight. Some of our families are doing get-to-gathers tonight and some next Sunday night. We will offer communion Christmas Eve at 6:00.
  • I’ve been behind the last few days and can’t seem to get caught up. Bobby has sent me several things but I haven’t had the time to sort through them. The pic and quote below come from Bobby Stork of Grand Bay in L.A. Thanks Bob!

First KING sized bed

manger

To one who has faith, no explanation is necessary.

To one without faith, no explanation is possible”.

~Thomas Aquinas

Leave a Reply

