Grasping Your Purpose

December 18, 2014


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

I’m not implying that I’ve already received “resurrection”{perfection}, or that I have already become complete and mature! No: I’m hurrying on, eager to overtake it, because King Jesus has overtaken me.

~Philippians 3:12, CT

QUOTE

We cannot do what God does but God will not do what we can.

~Oswald Chambers

my thoughts red

Paul uses the word ‘apprehend’ [AV] twice in this verse. It means to grasp or to take hold to. Paul said Christ took hold of me for a purpose {Telio’os} and I intend to take hold of the purpose for which He took hold of me. God did not call you to do everything but he did call you to do something: find out what it is and get busy. To grasp your purpose in life you need three things that Paul alludes to in this passage.

  1. YOU NEED A GOOD ATTITUDE–A Jay Cutler type attitude will not do the trick. You need a Tim Tebow type attitude.
  2. YOU NEED TO NARROW YOUR INTEREST–A jack of all trades is a master of none. You will never excel at anything as long as you are trying to do everything. A laser is concentrated light. It is light with a narrow focus. It is the narrow focus that gives the laser incredible power.
  3. YOU NEED TO INTENSIFY YOUR EFFORT–Paul was a sports fan and “press” is a sports word…He said, “I press on to possess that perfection for which Christ Jesus first possessed me”.… [v.12, NLT]….”press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us.” Are you as intense about the LORD’s work as you once were? Why are you letting up? The clock is running out, it is time to pick up the pace. It’s time to go into a full court press.

Do you really want to know your purpose {Why Christ laid hold of you}? Begin with a good attitude, narrow your interest to pleasing only HIM and intensify your effort. Bro. Inman use to tell the story of the woman who kept coming to her pastor complaining that the LORD never used her. Finally he told her, “Lady, if you will get usable, God will wear you out.” I concur.

For those who heard this last night, I apologize but I did not see many there who read the blog and I was tired.

extra 2

  • Don’t know exactly how many we had last night but we were down. I had a good time but I always do. Next Wednesday night I will offer communion at 6:00 and on December 31, we do not meet. Many of the LCBS classes have parties on that night which is good. Our class is having ours on December 28 and we are meeting at Cracker Barrel. What a shock, right?
  • Today we pray for those having TRIALS. Russ and Katie were thrilled that Preston’s surgery went well and two hours later Katie Sparkman gave birth to triplets. DBC has four babies in the infant ICU at Huntsville Women and Children. I think that is 6 in the last 5 weeks and 7 or 8 in the last two months. Continue to pray for Kenny Holladay.
  • Remember the Sunday schedule is different: Deacons and wives at 8:55, LCBS at 9:00 and one worship celebration at 10:15. No pm services for the rest of the year which is two Sundays: unbelievable!

santa_park

Leave a Reply

