Condescension

December 16, 2014


 

 

 

Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

Though he was God, He did not think of equality with God as something to cling to. Instead, He gave up his divine privileges; He took the humble position of a slave and was born as a human being.

~Philippians 2:6-7, NLT

QUOTE

Jesus Christ, the condescension of divinity, and the exaltation of humanity.

~Phillip Brooks

my thoughts red

I heard Paul Harvey tell the story some 30 years ago about a man who refused to attend church with his wife and children on Christmas. He chose to recline in the den. It was a cold day with a thick snow on the ground. It was so cold the birds were seeking shelter and one flew into the sliding glass doors that separated the warm lighted den from the cold dark outside. The man had compassion on the bird but it broke its neck when it hit the glass. He wanted to help the other birds so he went to an outside building that had light. He cut the light on and opened the door but birds did not trust him and would not enter the shelter. He found some grain and made a line leading through the door but the birds would eat the grain up to the door but would not enter. The man became frustrated with the fearful birds. “I’m trying to help them,” he thought “and they will not let me.” He thought and thought and finally reached the conclusion that to lead the birds to shelter, he would have to become a bird. There is more to the story but you get the gist.

I was telling this story once as it related to the incarnation, God becoming man to save us from death and hell and someone in the audience interrupted: “It’s not a good analogy. A lot of folks would become a bird to save a bird. It is more like being willing to become a rat to save the rats.” I thought wow, he has a point. Birds are free, majestic, beautiful and at times noble. Rats are filthy vermin. Rats are the epitome of depravity. I cannot think of anything good to say about rats. I have a bird feeder outside my home study: I enjoy watching the birds. I do not enjoy watching rats. Rats are filthy, disgusting, germ carrying rodents they mess and destroy.

Would you become a rat to save the rats? I wouldn’t; I don’t think they are worth saving. The condescension of Christ from heaven to earth, from God to man, was a far greater humiliation than you and I becoming a rat. Wow! The love of Jesus is incomprehensible.

extra 2

  • They did not get to do Preston’s surgery yesterday [December 15]: oxygen levels too low. Pray for Katie, Russ and Preston.
  • Today we pray for TEACHERS.
  • Mandy and Jamie will finish our Children’s shopping today: thank you DBC for your generosity. I am so very pleased with what you have done.
  • I will be the secretary most of the day so if you need me, call my cell, do not expect an answer from the office phone. Most of the calls are tele-marketers and I don’t have time to answer them. If you need me, call my cell.
  • Tomorrow night is full throttle and then we begin to slow down a bit for the holidays.
  • I ran into Don Widner at the ball game last night. Every time I see him, he reminds me of some of the goofs I made when I worked with him as a football official. I posted a story on MY STORIES for those who have the time to read it: it is supposed to be funny. You make the call!

David and Ginger

bills at Christmas

Leave a Reply

