He Has Made The List-Have You Checked It Twice?

December 13, 2014


 

Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

They knew God, but didn’t honor Him as God or thank Him. Instead, they learned to think in useless ways, and their unwise heart grew dark.

~Romans 1:21, CT

QUOTE

The day of judgment will be a day when the skeletons come out of the closets! And each of us will be standing there to face the record.

~Adrian Rogers

my thoughts red

I am not Santa but I am prone to make list or to spot them when I reading the bible. I am reading a new version by Nicholas Thomas Wright and yesterday I was reading in Romans 1 when I came across this very long list of the characteristics of the depraved life:

  • Injustice
  • Wickedness
  • Greed
  • Evil
  • Envy
  • Enmity
  • Murder
  • Deceit
  • Craftiness
  • Slander
  • Christ-hating
  • Arrogance
  • Narcissism
  • Boastful Pride
  • Conniving
  • Failure to honor parents
  • Foolishness
  • Unfaithfulness
  • Insensitivity
  • Indifference 

So: He has made the list and its up to us to check it twice. I am afraid that most of us have more naughty than nice. For the record, we are all depraved. When we get saved, Jesus begins the process of renewing our minds. In other words we should be moving away from all the things on the list.

EXTRA animated

  • Today we pray for STUDENTS and we are blessed at DBC to have a great group of YOUTH. Not many churches get their praise band from the YOUTH. Linda and David are the only two in our group that are not teenagers.
  • I’ll be on the road a lot today: Lord willing, I will be going to Huntsville and Birmingham. Joe David preaches tomorrow which is a help. It will allow me to visit today.
  • SCHEDULE tomorrow: Deacon’s Meeting at 8:00, LCBS at 9:00, Worship at 10:15, CHILDREN CHRISTMAS PLAY at 5:30 and supper following. Please don’t treat the Children’s play like you do AWANA, WEE Care and VBS commencement. We need to support our children and our children’s workers. It is not a night off for those who don’t have children or grandchildren in the play. We are family, all the kids are our kids.
  • Speaking of WEE Care: there Christmas Program is Sunday Evening at 2:00 pm.

LCBS LESSON PREVIEW

THE SHELTER OF GOD’S SALVATION

QUOTE

“Fallen man is not simply an imperfect creature who needs improvement. He is a rebel who must lay down his arms.”

~C.S. Lewis

KEY QUESTION

“Can you narrow your goals down to one thing?”

SCRIPTURE

The Lord is my light and my salvation
      so why should I be afraid?
The Lord is my fortress, protecting me from danger,
    so why should I tremble?
When evil people come to devour me,
    when my enemies and foes attack me,
    they will stumble and fall.
Though a mighty army surrounds me,
    my heart will not be afraid.
Even if I am attacked,
    I will remain confident.

The one thing I ask of the Lord
    the thing I seek most
is to live in the house of the Lord all the days of my life,
    delighting in the Lord’s perfections
    and meditating in his Temple.
For he will conceal me there when troubles come;
    he will hide me in his sanctuary.
    He will place me out of reach on a high rock.
Then I will hold my head high
    above my enemies who surround me.
At his sanctuary I will offer sacrifices with shouts of joy,
    singing and praising the Lord with music.

QUESTION FOR DISCUSSION

  1. We all know David’s weakness, what was his strengths? {make a list}
  2. Now, lets do something a little more difficult: what was his greatest strength? {Give your opinion, this is probably debatable}
  3. David was not an intimidating man physically but he had great courage. Saul, David’s predecessor was intimidating physically but had a fearful heart? What made the difference?
  4. David was literally surrounded by enemies that wanted to kill him. He lived in the hostile environment. How do you think we would manage if there were people all around us who wanted to kill us?
  5. It takes a lot of hate to generate murder. Has anyone ever hated you to the point of wanting to kill you? {Mother-in-laws don’t count}
  6. David narrowed his interest to ONE THING [verse 4] and it was to dwell in the house of the LORD. To gaze on the beauty, delight in His perfections. To study His character. To take refuge in His presence. David wanted the LORD’s presence and protection. He wanted to feel safe. How important is a sense of security to a human being?
  7. How can a tent be a shelter?
  8. What would you be willing to give up to gain perfect peace and a sense of security?
  9. What is on your dream list? Do you know anyone who has fulfilled your list? Have you talked to them to see if they are satisfied or content?
  10. List, goals are not a bad thing: those who have no goals reach no goals. I use list practically everyday and after making my list, I ask myself, what is the most important thing on the list. As we grow older, we learn to narrow our interest. What steps do you need to take to narrow your interest and pursue what matters most?

LESSON INSIGHTS

  1. Fear is a problem for everyone but some manage it better than others. David relied on the LORD for his courage, Saul put in confidence in the flesh.
  2. We are all surround by enemies–we just don’t see them. Paul gives us a good list in Ephesians 6. These enemies are out to destroy us and our only protection from them is CHRIST who is our ARK.
  3. Make a list of circumstances or situations that make you afraid. Talk to Jesus about your list. Solicit His support. His presence with His disciples made a huge difference. Practice His presence in your life, it is the key to overcoming fear.
  4. Share your faith and your fears. You might be surprised at the number of your Christian friends who struggle with the same things you do.

 

wood mayor

 

Leave a Reply

