Hilarious Giving

December 12, 2014


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

You must each decide in your heart how much to give. And don’t give reluctantly or in response to pressure. “For God loves a person who gives cheerfully.”

~2 Corinthians 9:7, NLT

QUOTE

It may sound brash or even bold but a cheerful giver never gets old.

~George Goldtrap

my thoughts red

The Greek word translated cheerfully above is the word ‘hilaros’ from which we get our word hilarious which means extremely amusing and hysterically funny. Next Sunday when the offering plates are passed, look at people faces as the plate goes by: see if you see any extreme amusement or any hysterical laughter. Believe it or not, you can order offering plates which have sensors in the bottom and they make the sound of laughter when people drops coins into them. There are $167.50 per plate and batteries are not included.

The first adult assignment I was given as an 18 year old was to be a member of the tellers committee. I was told to open the envelops without looking at the name and dump the money on the table. They didn’t allow me to count, just dump. Are you kidding me, everyone in the room looked at the names on the envelops, they were just sly. I wasn’t so sly. I noticed over a course of several weeks that one man gave $1 per week. After my sixth or seventh week, I blurted out, “I know why they call this man Buck, he give a buck a week.” They fired me on the spot. More power to them: who wants to count money?

To be honest, I have to work at giving. The giving is not so hard but the giving cheerfully can be a problem. Yesterday, I had a ton of errands to run plus some visits. I’m kind of in a hurry, I pull in at SAMS to get some church supplies and I no more than hit the pavement before a man comes out of nowhere and hits me up for money; the old stranded and need money to get home story. I had been to the hospital and rehab where Carrie Beth works and on my way to SAMS, I stopped at Chick-Fil-A. I had $5 to my name so I just got a sandwich. I had an old Mountain Dew in the truck. I said “Fellow, you are out of luck, I am down to $1 but you can have it.” He wasn’t all that impressed. I still had 36 cents and I gave it to Salvation Army outside the door at SAMS. Hey this is the part that makes me look good but the truth in my hilarious giving yesterday was that I was rejoicing that June had not just given me my weekly allowance. Being down to my last dollar is funny. It would not have been so hilarious if I had been down to my last $20. There isn’t much a man can do with a dollar these days but a $20…that is 10 double cheese burgers plus small fries at Mickey D’s or four and half Fish-O-Filet sandwiches.

Extra__logo-1_0

  • Today we pray for family and lets focus on Russ and Katie Roberts. Their son Preston is at Huntsville in the infant ICU. Preston has a couple of issues that are treatable. Pray for this young couple.
  • O.B. bought the Apples Florist in Falkville a couple of years before his departure and so I tried to give them my business at Christmas time. I buy most of my flowers from Millie but I tried to spread it out due to the fact that O.B. had bought me so many steak dinners. I think it was three years ago that I dropped in and saw a flower that captured my full attention which is not that easy. It is called an Icicle Punch Poinsettia. Once you see one, a regular poinsettia will not do. Two of the people I bought them far have been promoted in 2014 but I needed one [at least] for this year. The woman at the florist told me that she could not get any this year. Maybe next year!
  • June {Alias Big Mama} and I have three grandchildren with birthdays today. Josie Tate don’t be late and Ty-conderoga are 7 and Ryder Ace mud in your face and die hard Auburn fan like his great Aunt is 8. We have two at 7, two at 8, two at 17 {three counting Billy} and our singles are 2, 11 and 21. The book ends are pistol balls with a capitol P.
  • Children’s Christmas Play Sunday evening at 5:30 with Church wide CHRISTMAS SUPPER following. We are going with finger foods and things that we do not have to keep warm. The church will furnish the ham and chicken. I visited with Tom and Edith yesterday and he wanted to buy the hams: I said, “Too late, Mandy picked them up yesterday.” I invited them to join us for our Christmas family celebration.
  • It may not be too late to sponsor a child for Christmas: talk to Mandy Sunday.

snowgirl

toon631

Leave a Reply

