Kindness Incarnated

December 1, 2014


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

But when the Holy Spirit controls our lives he will produce this kind of fruit in us: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control; and here there is no conflict with Jewish laws.

~Galatians 5:22-23, TLB

QUOTE

The person who sows seeds of kindness enjoys a perpetual feast.

~Anonymous

my thoughts red

Something happened yesterday that I do not recall happening before: Bro. Tim and I had picked the exact same scripture. I quickly volunteered to switch but Bro. Tim said, “No, this is a God thing. There is a reason why both of us thought of the same text. We need to go with it.” Martha Newby incarnated all the fruits of the Spirit but the first word which comes to my mind when her name is mentioned is “Kindness.” I try to change this hard world with the hammer of truth; Mrs. Martha had a better way, she melted it with kindness.

Some years ago as I was about to get out of my vehicle and enter a beautiful edifice for the celebration of life service for a young man who had died tragically, God spoke to me clearly and I have never forgotten what He said, “Jack, one act of kindness means more to Me than big buildings like the one you just been admiring.” Think about it, “What does God need with bricks, mortar, mahogany and stained glass?” The building I was admiring would cost well over a million but I took notes and I believe what He said: God is not into building, buses and budgets: God’s affinity is for people.

Can you imagine the reward those will receive who were kind to Jesus? What about the nameless woman in Luke 7 who washed Jesus feet with her tears and dried them with her hair and then kissed His feet incessantly in a room filled with gawking-dirty-minded-old-men who were making fun of her as she expressed her love for Jesus?

Extra__logo-1_0

  • Today we pray for Ministers and Missionaries.
  • Yesterday was my first really long day since the surgery and I was beat last night but even in my weariness, I was so thankful to be able to be up and going. I love my church family and the singing yesterday morning was such a blessing. I also got the opportunity to visit with my dear friends and family at Sardis Springs. It was a good day: Thank You Jesus.
  • TODAY’s agenda is to get the DIGEST to Alabama mail and restore the sanctuary.
  • Again, we want to thank Kelli, Cyndi, Lisa, Beth and Hope for decorating the church: they did a fantastic job.
  • If you have not signed up for your family photo for new church directory, you need to do so in the next two weeks. We have had a good response but we need to fill in the gaps. You can sign up at the Welcome Center or see Mandy when you go through the line for supper on Wednesday night.
  • To tired to find a cartoon.
Leave a Reply

