DREAM IN THE EXTREME

November 12, 2014


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

Soon Joseph had another dream, and again he told his brothers about it. “Listen, I have had another dream,” he said. “The sun, moon, and eleven stars bowed low before me!”

~Genesis 37:9, NLT

QUOTE

Christians dream in the extreme except when they are dreaming of spiritual things and then we don’t dream big at all.

~Wade Morris

my thoughts red

We have been talking about Joseph in LCBS for the past month. Joseph had some extreme dreams. He dreamed that he would rule over his brothers and even his father. He even dreamed that someday they would bow down to him in obeisance. I dream all the time but I have never had a dream like Joseph. My night dreams are crazy. I had two real weird night dreams last night. In one, Joe David and I were stranded in Florence and we were in a go cart shop trying to find a ride home. There is more but I am embarrassed to share it. In the other, I was at the bank in Falkville and I saw one of our church families trying to get a loan to save their place. Brent was the banker and they were not getting anywhere. I was being nosy but also trying not to be seen. As I tried to slip out the door, I went blind. I could not see anything. I stood there until the couple came out. They were trying to help me and the last thing I said to them, “Maybe this is a bad dream.” I woke up that instant and was thrilled that it was only a dream.

My day dreams are nothing like my night dreams because I have more control. Wade was blown away when I told him about my day dreams: I am never poor [always filthy rich], never bad looking, old, fat, and always the greatest athlete, the star of the team.  I am always the savior, the go to guy who can fix everything that is broken. I never dream of having cancer or seeing my friends die with cancer. I never dream of divorce or the death of a family member or friend. Actually, I don’t even dream of the death of my enemies.

In relationship to the message last Sunday on heaven: I believe heaven is infinitely greater than our wildest dreams. Eye has not see, nor ear heard, nor mind imagined what Christ has prepared for those who love HIM.  Joseph’s brothers thought he was nuts for dreaming for out dreams: no one ruled the sons of Jacob, they were outlaws and proud of it.  But they did bow to Joseph five times. Joseph dreams were out there but they all come true. The reality of heaven will be infinitely greater than your dreams. No cancer there, no death, no poverty, no one is desperate need. Matter of face no desperation or need period. Never stop dreaming. You don’t realize it but most of your dreams are about heaven. Growing old is very real but it is also a illusion: so you keep dreaming. The best is yet to come.

Wade’s point was that we need to dream big in the faith areas and I was convicted.

Extra__logo-1_0

  • Hope you had a great VETERAN’S DAY
  • Today we pray for the WORLD
  • Two more Wednesday night suppers before Thanksgiving…tonight and next Wednesday.
  • No Deacons meeting this Sunday.
  • Honor the Champs this Sunday and dedication of the ramp Sunday night.
  • Luke 14 Sunday Night November 23 at 5:30 pm
  • Finally watched a good Hallmark TV Christmas Movie. It’s about the Fireman and the Veterinarian. A must see for cat lovers.

ROAD RAGE AND GARBAGE TRUCKS

[Read at your discretion, I didn’t write it, I copied and pasted. It comes from Bobby]

One day I hopped in a taxi and we took off for the airport. We were driving in the right lane when suddenly a black car jumped out of a parking space right in front of us. My taxi driver slammed on his brakes, skidded, and missed the other car by just inches! 

The driver of the other car whipped his head around and started yelling at us. My taxi driver just smiled and waved at the guy. And I mean, he was really nice to the guy who pulled out in front of us. So I asked, ‘Why did you just do that? This guy almost ruined your car and sent us to the hospital!‘ This is when my taxi driver taught me what I now call, ‘The Law of the Garbage Truck.’ 

He explained that many people are like garbage trucks. They run around full of garbage, full of frustration, full of anger, and full of disappointment. As their garbage piles up, they need a place to dump it and sometimes they’ll dump it on you. Don’t take it personally. Just smile, wave, wish them well, and move on. Don’t take their garbage and spread it to other people at work, at home, or on the streets. 

The bottom line is that successful people do not let garbage trucks take over their day. Life’s too short to wake up in the morning with regrets, so Love the people who treat you right. Pray for the ones who don’t. As Chuck Swindoll says, “Life is ten percent what happens to you and 90 percent how you respond. The response is called our attitude.”

elvis instead of elves

 

2 Responses to “DREAM IN THE EXTREME”

  1. Holly Roberts Says:

    Love me some Joseph, hope you are feeling better!

Leave a Reply

