OCD Is Not Me!

November 5, 2014


revival theme with wade2014jpg

DAY FIVE OF REVIVAL

SCRIPTURE

“He’s going to clean house—make a clean sweep of your lives. He’ll place everything true in its proper place before God; everything false he’ll put out with the trash to be burned.”

~Matthew 3:12, MSG

QUOTE

Pleasure in Christ is the pathway to purity.

~Sam Storms

my thoughts red

Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpgObsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD) is an anxiety disorder in which people have unwanted and repeated sensations (obsessions) that make them feel driven to do something (compulsions). I have always referred to them as “Neat Freaks”; everything has to be in its proper place or in a certain order. One mother, who out of respect I will keep anonymous, told me a few months ago “Our entire family is OCD and Teddy is more so than the rest.” Big Mama has been blessed with this disorder and so has Lexi. Everything has to be clean and in its proper place. Personally, I think making up beds is bad stewardship and a waste of time but Big Mama would make the beds even if she knew the house was going to burn 30 minutes later.

Jesus has no disorders but He is passionate about cleanliness. I love the way Eugene Peterson paraphrased John’s description of Jesus the ultimate house cleaner. It is His nature to clean and to purify. Jesus is not concerned so much with your house as your heart. He cleans from the inside out. He will not live in a dirty house. If He abides in you, He is in the process of cleaning. He removes the trash and burns it and in time, you will love Him for doing it.

Extra__logo-1_0

  • Another very good service with seven professions of faith. We had an unbelievable 260 counting children’s church and nursery. We have been blessed with visitors every night and once again MILESTONE made a tremendous difference. We also had about 100 youth and they did good. I had to break up one fight but all in all, they did great. I want them in the service: I don’t mind doing a little coaching–it is more than worth it. I think they love even though I have to get on them every now and then: I know for a fact, I love them.
  • Today we pray for this last REVIVAL SERVICE…we have had a good meeting but the Ruach has not blown the doors off the hinges. Pray for the Spirit to move and for him to move in the 300 plus who are staying at home. All we can do is pray, contact them and love them. I have no idea why a true believe chooses not to support a revival.
  • God has blessed us with several new families and I am excited. Those my age have a hard time matching names to faces and we are going to get some help in that area: Mandy is heading a CHURCH DIRECTORY project but it is not like any we have done before. This one will have a phone apt and we can have every member with name in our phone. It even works in conjunction with our GPS [in your phone] to show us where each member lives. Mandy and crew will be ready to book appointments this Sunday. The pictures will be made on January 15,16, and 17 [Thur-Sat]. There is no charge to you are the church but they will offer you a chance to buy the pictures. These people are business folks and they know what percentage will not buy. They cannot use any pressure: you just say “No thanks” and leave. I think you get one photo free regardless.
  • I do want to praise the LORD that Hartselle defeated the liquor folks one more time and I am also relieved that special interest did not get their way. Perhaps the day is coming when special interest will not run Alabama. One thing is certain: there is no one in Montgomery looking out for small businessmen or preachers. The people have spoken and I did not tell anyone how to vote, not even my children.
Leave a Reply

