Hindrances To Revival # 15–INGRATITUDE

October 27, 2014


revival theme with wade2014jpg

Day 19 of 24

animated-clock-image-0003

SCRIPTURE

You should know this, Timothy, that in the last days there will be very difficult times.For people will love only themselves and their money. They will be boastful and proud, scoffing at God, disobedient to their parents, and ungrateful.

~2 Timothy 3:1-2, NLT

QUOTE

There be three causes of ingratitude[1] Envy– looking more at other’s blessings than our own; [2] Pride, looking more at ourselves than at our blessings and [3] Covetousness, looking more at what we want than at what we have.

~Joseph Hall

my thoughts red

We tend to think of ingratitude as a mild sin but I beg to differ: I think it is an insult to God. When Jesus told the three stories in Matthew 21-22; all three indicted the Jewish Religious leaders for their pride, self-righteousness, self-will, rebellion, unrepentant attitude and ungratefulness. God had blessed them more than any people on earth and for His benevolent goodness, they rejected His Son and cheered His crucifixion. What an awesome display of ingratitude.

Have you given proper thanks lately? Do you think God should bless an ungrateful people? Would it help if we humbled ourselves and showed a little gratitude? It would not hurt, would it? As Paul told the Ephesians in chapter 5, “Thanksgiving is the Christian dialect.” [Eph. 5:4, MSG] 

A little extra on the personal side…

I enjoy feeling gratitude on Sunday nights but last week, I was a little down and for no just reason. When June was checking my BP last night, I told her I owed the LORD an apology and everyone else. Last Sunday morning the LORD saved a precious young lady in our service. She came up to me yesterday with a huge smile and gave me a hug, this is after I bungled her name in front of the entire church last week. I went home depressed last Sunday night after the LORD, in mercy, had saved one of our precious young people. I was so wrapped up in my petty problems that I did not even mention her salvation on the blog. God in his mercy and grace saved another one of our youth last night. I have been knowing this young man for 3-4 years and I got to celebrate with his parents and Joe David after his decision. Here I am worried about all our backslidden members and failing to give God thanks for what HE IS DOING among us. Thank God for Gracie and Landon! Forgive me LORD for focusing on the wrong thing. We had two good services yesterday and I am thankful. I didn’t count but there were a lot who committed to the TWO ACTS OF KINDNESS.

  • TODAY we pray for CHURCH MEMBERS. Normally we pray for ministers and missionaries on Monday but we are making a change today due to upcoming REVIVAL. Pick out one member or member family that has been lax in worship attendance and pray that the SPIRIT OF GOD would stir them and draw them to the REVIVAL service this Sunday morning.
  • A lot happening this week: DHS Girls advance to State and will play twice on Wednesday. If they win out on Wednesday, they play in finals Thursday night.
  • AWANA children Hayride this Wednesday night with STEW and CHILI from 5:30-6:30. No charge. Your option is a dessert, drink, crackers or Frito chips for chili.
  • Friday at 7:00 am we feed DHS football team: 11:30 SENIOR ADULT FISH FRY and at 5:30 TRUNK-A-TREAT.
  • Saturday night: PRAYER WHEEL call around begins at 8:00, please do not break the chain.
  • A.R.K.–Act of Redemptive Kindness. You do two: one to a very active member and one to an inactive or randomly active member. I want us to continue to pray and express our love for each other.
Leave a Reply

