Remember and Learn

October 2, 2014


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

But just experiencing God’s wonder and grace didn’t seem to mean much to the Israelites—most of them were defeated by temptation during the hard times in the desert, and God was not pleased.

1 Corinthians 10, MSG

QUOTE

Creating a god you can control and comprehend is called paganism.

~Yaakov

my thoughts red

You know I am fond of list and you can find one in 1 Corinthians 10: the proposition Paul makes is we should learn from the mistakes of others. The mistakes the Israelites made are recorded as a warning to us not to do the same…

  • We must be on guard so that we do not get caught up in demanding our way.
  • We must not turn our worship into a circus that is designed to bring pleasure to us rather than pleasure to God. [Worship is never about us: no mere human is worthy of worship]
  • We must not be sexually promiscuous. The Israelites were and 23,000 died in one day. Our politically correct society will not tell the truth: “Promiscuous and perverted sex is highly destructive both to soul and body.”
  • We must never put God to the test when it comes to serving our interest: we must be devoted to serving His interest. The Israelites were selfish and God unleashed an epidemic of poisonous snakes.
  • We must stop stirring up discontent–the Israelites did and it cost them their future and the promise land.

Extra__logo-1_0

Dr. Junior Hill

Dr. Junior Hill coming to DBC August 21, 2016

As a part of the celebration of my last month at DBC, Junior has agreed to come and preach for us on Sunday morning, August 21, 2016. Remember, this man has an open invitation to practically every Southern Baptist church in the country. What an honor it is to have Junior as a friend and to have him preach for us one more time God willing. Neither Junior nor I are assuming anything: God may have other plans and His plans are always better than ours. At the same time, I have to tell you that Joe David and I are excited. Everybody loves Junior.

EXTRA animated

  • We had over 100 for supper last night: can you believe it! We had 120 in AWANA. Our total last night was 202 with 16 van riders. It is either the 3rd or 4th week in a row that we have went over 200.
  • Baby shower for Zack and Kimie Cochrane this Saturday at the home of Sandy Cochran: 2;00-4:00. It is a boy!
  • FRONT PEW shower for Katie Matthews Sparkman this Sunday: Girl’s, three of them.
  • GOLDEN GIRLS have been rescheduled for October 11.
  • Today we pray for those having trials and we have a long list: First, I will list the cancer patients… Linda Dutton, Bonnie Moore, James Floyd Bailey, Angie Blackburn, Kenny Holladay and Larry Garner. I beg you in Jesus name to lift our friends battling this dreadful disease up to the Father. Those sick or recovering from surgery, wrecks, etc…Dale Marbut, Barney Ray Sessums, Jim Bonner, Shannon Garrison, Dale Boyd and Bill Wilbourn.
  • Mandy has the offering envelops fixed for this Sunday: Grace, IMB and Gideon, all you have to do is go to the welcome center and pick up your choice. It will be as easy as falling off of a log.
  • Everything is subject to change because as we were reminded Tuesday, “You never know what a day will bring,” but LORD willing we will be out of town Friday and Saturday. I will be getting in late Saturday night [if I get in at all]. I need prayer, Jerry is driving and Tim is navigating: trust me, it is not a good combination. Pray for Jerry Allen to go with us: he will not let his daddy drive.
  • No Deacon’s Meeting Sunday morning. Actually, they will get two weeks off.
  • Burger Queen is pro-gay rights. Even though they promoted their gay pride whopper in San Fran-sissy-co only, there is a possibility that they will promote the gay pride burger nation wide. You can get more info at AFA. It offends me and I have not been to Burger Queen since I found out in July. There is no way the Burger Queens can survive in the South if Christians stop patronizing them. Folks we have to take a stand somewhere. We can live without Burger Queen.  I don’t care how you feel about it, do what is right!

burger-king

POEM FROM BOBBY

The Secret

One day, one friend asked another, “How is it that you are always so happy?
You have so much energy, and you never seem to get down.”

 With her eyes smiling, she said, “I know the Secret!”

“What secret is that?” To which she replied,

“I’ll tell you all about it, but you have to promise to

share the Secret with others.”

“The Secret is this: I have learned there is little I can do

in my life that will make me truly happy.

I must depend on Christ to make me happy and to meet my needs.

When a need arises in my life, I have to trust Jesus to supply according to HIS riches.

I have learned most of the time I don’t need half of what I think I do.

He has never let me down.

Since I learned that ‘Secret’, I am happy.”

The questioner’s first thought was, “That’s too simple!”

But upon reflecting over her own life she recalled how she thought a bigger house

would make her happy, but it didn’t!

She thought a better paying job would make her happy, but it hadn’t.

When did she realize her greatest happiness?

Sitting on the floor with her grandchildren,

playing games, eating pizza or reading a story,

a simple gift from God.

Now you know it too!  We can’t depend on people to make us happy.

Only Jesus Christ in His infinite wisdom can do that.

Trust HIM!

And now I pass the Secret on to you!

So once you get it, what will you do?

YOU have to tell someone the Secret, too!

That GOD in His wisdom will take care of YOU!

 

Leave a Reply

