Confidence

September 15, 2014


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

[Moses said to Joshua] Be strong and brave! You’re going to lead these people into the land the Eternal promised their ancestors He’d give them. You’ll give it to them, and they’ll give it to their descendants. And He will be leading you. He’ll be with you, and He’ll never fail you or abandon you. So don’t be afraid!

QUOTE

Confidence in the natural world is self-reliance, in the Kingdom of God, it is Christ-reliance.

~Oswald Chambers

my thoughts red

Confidence is a positive attitude toward the future and the assurance that whatever tomorrow brings; we, by the grace of God, will meet the challenge. It is a comfort to know that in spite of the condition of our fallen world, God is in complete control. As the song says, “I don’t worry about my future,  for I know what Jesus said and today He walks beside me,  for He knows what lies ahead.” We don’t know what tomorrow holds but we know who holds tomorrow. Personally, I am relying on His grace to give me what I need when I need it. I have no doubt that Christ is my peace, my courage and my hope.

Extra__logo-1_0

  • Another good LORD’s day to give thanks for: God is good.
  • The Deacons have been meeting for the past two weeks discussing [At my request] [1] The Reform movement in the SBC and how this will effect Mission and Evangelism and [2] Small Groups on Sunday night. I think we need at least one more week, perhaps two to word our recommendation to the church. Right now we are trying to get as much information as possible. We have given both items a lot of thought and some prayer: we need more prayer. May God help us to make the right decision.
  • I may have mentioned this already, can’t remember but we are planning to have Sunday Morning Communion on September 28. Joe David will preach next Sunday morning.
  • We do have some Sunday night activities coming up: October 12 will be a cook-out and a bean bag tournament and then between Thanksgiving and Christmas I want to do another Mass Visitation [over 1800 homes] on back to back Sunday nights. We will be delivering a Christmas gift, I just don’t know what it is at this time. Suggestions are appreciated.
  • Also have a MISSION OPPORTUNITY September 27, “Taking the Gospel To the Park.” We will be going to Birmingham. I don’t know the name of the part but it is beautiful.
  • What about those CHARGERS and Mr. Humble {Phillip the great}. I’m glad I don’t bet. No, I did not see the game, just the highlights.
  • Today is a traveling day for Joe David.
  • Today we pray for MINISTERS and MISSIONARIES.
Leave a Reply

