Once I Was Young

September 12, 2014


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

Once I was young, and now I am old.

~Psalm 37:25, NLT

QUOTE

“Just remember, when you’re over the hill, you begin to pick up speed.”

~Charles M. Schulz

my thoughts red

Our education is both incremental and progressive. At 20 I didn’t know everything but certainly more than my daddy. I have always been amazed at how much daddy learned while I was in Seminary.  At age 30, you are still young and know it and you get a kick out of picking at a 67 year old. At 40, a dark ominous cloud begins to gather over you and you realize for the first time, you are no spring chick but you take on a new appreciation for people. You begin to realize how much time you have wasted and you stop thinking so much about success which seems to be passing you by and you begin to think about significance. You also begin to realize your ignorance.  At 50 you are like Ned in his first reader. You want to learn, you are eager to learn, more so than when you were in college but you have a much harder time retaining. At 60 you are overwhelmed with your ignorance and amazed at the wisdom of your father. He becomes the wisest man you’ve ever known. What about 65?

Let me tell you about 65. I love to read and study more than ever. I love preaching, teaching and writing more than ever but I have this feeling that I’m in over my head. The pulpit overwhelms me. The awesome responsibility of leading or misleading weighs on my mind. There are times when I think that I should give up everything but study and helping others. Should I be preaching, teaching or writing? Both the privilege and the responsibility of preaching God’s word have increased with age. In the beginning, it was like a trickling branch; then a creek; then a river; then a lake and now it’s like an ocean. It’s immensity overwhelms me. One thing keeps me going: God’s grace. It is the only explanation. In the younger years I thought it was part Jack and part Jesus: Now I know the truth, it is all JESUS!

Extra__logo-1_0

  • Today we pray for FAMILY.
  • I believe in prayer. I can’t explain prayer, no finite mind can understand it. We pray because Jesus told us to pray. We pray because there is a longing in our hearts to pray. We pray because it works but we don’t understand how it works. I have a bit of a burden and I want you to spend 15 seconds directing a prayer in my vicinity.
  • I also have a confession: I thought I saw more people in my group Wednesday than were in it. Maybe I was being optimistic or maybe I gave you a ministerial estimate as Bro. Inman use to say but we did not have 193, we had 183 but it is still good and I was encouraged. There is nothing wrong with night church, we just need a REVIVAL.
Leave a Reply

