No To Satan and Yes To Suffering

September 4, 2014


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

Get away from Me, Satan. I will not serve you.

~Matthew 4:10, The VOICE

QUOTE

Try to exclude the possibility of suffering which the order of nature and the existence of free-wills involve, and you find that you have excluded life itself.

~C. S. Lewis

my two cents worth.

Although the temptations of Christ were three-fold: physical appetite, pleasure and power, the basic temptation was to avoid suffering. Jesus was hungry so the devil suggested turning stone into bread: why should the Son of God suffer from hunger. Why should He suffer at all and why should He serve? It was well within the grasp of Jesus to be an earthy king. The devil was tempting Jesus to shun the cross and the suffering that is attached. I really like the way Jesus answers the diabolical one…Get away from Me, Satan. I will not serve you. I like it, “Get our of My face, you are such a disgrace and My Father’s will I do embrace.” {JEV}

Are you shunning your cross?

Extra__logo-1_0

  • Huge turn out for AWANA…50 Sparks….10 Puggles….9 Cubbies…9 bus riders. We had between 90 and 100 in AWANA alone. We need a bus driver by next Wednesday night. I enjoy doing it but I can’t do two things at once. Youth were also up: Joe David had about 50. Everyone was up except my group. It will take a revival to get my group to show up.
  • Golden Girls this Saturday morning at 9:00 at Cracker Barrel.
  • I’m not sure about today’s schedule: I may have to go back to dentist and if my jaw goes to hurting, I may go home and go to bed. I will be at the office if I feel up to it. I doubt seriously that I will be able to do any hospital visitation today. Bill Wilborn is not doing well.
  • Clara will possibly be coming home Friday.
  • Today is our Day of Prayer for those having trials: If you don’t have names, I will share some of mine. Most of them are battling physical problems…Kenny Holladay, Larry Garner, Barney Sessums, Dee Eady, Bill Wilborn, Clara Miller, Angie Blackburn, Martha Newby, Steve Tanner and Jackie Steele.

Prayer For The Sick

Father we lift up our friends who are suffering. You have instructed us to call on our church leaders and ask for prayer when there is sickness. We gather in spirit today to intercede for those who are battling physical issues. Your word promises that the prayer of faith can raise them up and even bring them into right relationship with you. We prayer for everyone on our list: may You give them peace and courage; may you forgive their sins; may each and everyone of them look to You today as their Savior and Physician. Knowing that we will not dwell permanently in these bodies of clay, we exalt the spiritual needs above the physical. Father grant each what You deem needed most. In Jesus name we pray, Amen!

ysam EXTRA

Senior Adult Ladies Prayer

“Dear Lord: The last four or five years have been very tough. You have taken my favorite actor – Paul Newman; my favorite actress – Elizabeth Taylor; my favorite singer – Andy Williams, my favorite author -Tom Clancy, and now my favorite comedian – Robin Williams. I just wanted you to know that my favorite politicians are Barack Obama, Joe Biden, Hillary Clinton, Nancy Pelosi and Harry Reid, and I have a special place in my heart for Jessie Jackson and Al Sharpton….Amen”     

Obama. beheading to golf course.pg

2 Responses to “No To Satan and Yes To Suffering”

  1. Keith Blackwood Says:

    Don’t forget about another one of our favorites, Al,I am a bore, Gore! I really like that guy!


  2. Love the prayer, it really speaks for me.

Leave a Reply

