Giving

September 3, 2014


 

Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

I am not commanding you to give. But I want to see if your love is true by comparing you with others that really want to help.

~2 Corinthians 8:8, NCV

QUOTE

I do not believe one can settle how much we ought to give. I am afraid the only safe rule is to give more than we can spare.

~C.S. Lewis

my two cents worth.

The Dead Sea is dead for a reason, it takes but never gives. Paul challenges the Corinthians to give in the manner of the churches of Macedonia; namely Philippi and Thessalonica. These churches were poor and persecuted, yet they begged Paul for an opportunity to give to the poor saints in Jerusalem. Paul was overwhelmed by their response: first they rededicated their lives to Christ and then they gave a monetary offering that shocked the Apostle. Paul said, “They gave more than they could afford.” The Macedonian churches were generous but you could not say the same for Corinth. The church at Corinth gave Paul a hard time {hades} and they were generous with advice and criticism but they never gave him a dime. I don’t suppose it crossed the minds of their budget committee that we would be talking about their stinginess 2,000 years later but it is a matter of record. In 2 Corinthians 8:8, Paul says, “I’m giving you an opportunity to prove the sincerity of your love.”

Paul did not want to be legalistic: he said, “This is not a command…but an opportunity to prove that you really love Jesus.” Perhaps the most mysterious phenomenon of the ministry is encountering these super-saints who do not give a dime. They have all kinds of excuses: “I give my time…I give my talents…I give my expertise.” Have you ever tried to pay your Joe Wheeler bill with talent or time? There are some things that Big Mama tracks and one of them is pay-day. Let me tell you what Big Mama would not be happy with this month. “Honey, I am going to keep my pay check but I am going to give you my talent and my time.” You think that is ridiculous, so do I. She knows, I know and every competent person knows that a man who loves his family supports that family with the money he earns. Big Mama doesn’t want a song and dance, she wants the pay check and for what she has done for me and our children, she deserves it.

I don’t have a problem with a person who doesn’t tithe: I have a problem with those who profess to love Jesus and don’t tithe. According to the word of God, they are not sincere. As our son says, “Tithing is the easiest of all Christian disciplines.” If you can’t get tithing right, it is not likely that you will move on to higher things.

Extra__logo-1_0

  • Miss Clara did not have a good day yesterday. Awana will kick off tonight at 6:15 as scheduled, the GATHERING at 6:30, no supper tonight. We will get started with supper next Wednesday.
  • Had to have an abscessed tooth extracted yesterday. The abscess was too deep for a root canal. Big Mama believes the infection from the abscess is the cause of my neck pain. I do hope she is right. I’ve been on antibiotics for days, waiting for an appointment. I was feeling so much better yesterday morning that I told Big Mama I was not going to keep the appointment. She gave me one of her stupid idiot sermons and I went. The Doctor said that Big Mama was right, the antibiotics were just buying me time. It is also nice to have a daughter who works for a dentist. Today, I am thanking the LORD for the wisdom of Big Mama, the kindness of Dr. Gregg, Dawn, all the nurses and Brandi and for Hannah’s job. Those folks treat you so nice that going to the dentist is almost fun.
  • Steve Tanner was getting ready to go home when I saw him yesterday.
  • Today we pray for the WORLD.
Leave a Reply

