The LORD Is My Strength

August 1, 2014


 

Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

~Psalm 73:26

QUOTE

There is only one Being who can completely satisfy to the absolute depth of the hurting human heart and that is the LORD Jesus Christ.

~Oswald Chambers

my two cents worth.

God is infinitely perfect and immutable, He does not change. He is perfect in all His ways and attributes. Therefore, He is perfect in His faithfulness and love. When all else fails, God can be trusted. Jesus trusted no man because He understood our human nature and knew we have a propensity to fail. Jesus was neither shocked nor angry when Peter denied Him. He knew Peter would fail but loved him anyway. Jesus never put His confidence in people but that didn’t make Him cynical or judgmental; He always relied on His Father in heaven. Some times we are demanding of others,  expecting more than they can produce. If your trust is in humans, any human, you will ultimately be disappointed. There is only one person who you can trust completely and that is Jesus. It is fine to love people but don’t idolize them; you’re setting yourself up for disappointment if you do. Men fail but Jesus never fails. I think someone wrote a song saying this very thing. The chorus goes like this…

Jesus never fails. Jesus never fails.
You might as well get thee behind me, Satan
You cannot prevail, because Jesus never fails.
 

grace barn

a Clara

a cooking team

acting goofy

Kerri and Allen

a joe-wheeler

a mass visitation

Extra__logo-1_0

  • GOLDEN GIRLS Saturday morning at Cracker Barrel in Hartselle at 9:00 a.m.
  • Really big week coming up…pray for the mass visitation on Wednesday night. We are getting the gifts and the bags lined up. If any of you are really gifted on maps, I could use your help. I would like to know exactly how many stops we are going to be making. Right now, I have 30 routes in mind but I think of new ones every day. Let’s pray for 30 teams and that is with 3-4 to a team. Families can do this: it’s trick or treat in reverse, you are giving them a gift.
  • Guatemala Team arrived safely but you knew that already: I’m not as fast as facebook.
  • Children come in today.
  • My proof reader retired early last night so I had no one to proof read. You probably saw a lot of mistakes but I have to switch gears and study for Sunday.

a sam on libs

porkypig

 

Leave a Reply

