Motive

July 25, 2014


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

“Who may climb the Lord’s hill or stand in his holy temple? Only those who do right for the right reasons.”

~Psalms 24:4, CEV

QUOTE

The only thing that exceeds right-doing is right-being.

~Oswald Chambers

my two cents worth.

I was saved at the age of 9, recommitted my life around age 17, surrendered to preach at 19 but there was so very much that I didn’t understand. Not only was I ignorant, I was ignorant of being ignorant. The Lord began to deal with me about motives in my middle to late 20’s. Over the years I have come to understand Psalm 24:4, “We must do right things for the right reasons.” If we do right things for the wrong reasons, there is no reward now or ever. Speaking of motive, Paul said, If I could speak every language on earth, but didn’t love others, I would only be making noise. If I had the gift of prophecy, and if I understood all of God’s secret plans and possessed all knowledge, and if I had such faith that I could move mountains, but didn’t love others, I would be nothing. If I gave everything I have to the poor and even sacrificed my body, I could boast about it; but if I am not motivated by love, there is no reward. In God’s kingdom, being precedes doing; attitude is paramount to action. Doing good things for the wrong reasons is vanity.

floyd-and-mandy-pumped

Identify the man under the tree and you win a free whatchamacallit

 

Extra__logo-1_0

  • I  am going canoeing [LORD willing] with the youth…pray for me…and we are not stopping at Burger Queen coming back.
  • Sunday is CHILDREN’S  CHEWABLE MULTI-VITAMIN day: Our goal is two suit cases full of vitamins.
  • 15 Days until Block Party.
  • Full Schedule Sunday.

Pic From Bob

Switchback Mountain, Tianman Hwy, China

Switchback Mountain, Tianman Hwy, China

foghorn on being

Leave a Reply

