Love

July 19, 2014


Celebrate Jesus.crimsonjpg

SCRIPTURE

I will gladly spend myself and all I have for you, even though it seems that the more I love you, the less you love me.

~2 Corinthians 12:15

QUOTE

We have no right in Christ service to be guided by our own interest and desires.

~Oswald Chambers

MY THOUGHTS

The Greeks felt intellectually superior to us and at times I am inclined to agree. They knew that one word cannot adequately describe all the facets of love. We use the same word to describe our feelings for apple pie or the apple of our eye. I love apple pie but not in the same way I love my wife, children and grandchildren. The Greeks had four words for love:

  • Eros–Romantic love between male and female
  • Phileo–Brotherly love, virtuous love, loyal and committed love. It is the kind of love that produces heroes.
  • Storge–Natural affection, the love of a mother for her child, etc.
  • Agape–Divine Love. This is an imputed love. I call it “Love from above”. It is a grace gift and it is a God quality love, an unconditional love. It is truth driven.

Paul was motivated to serve others by the love of Christ. He did what he did because he loved Jesus more than life. He served people but not for their approval, praise or gratitude. All three forms of natural love expect something in return but Agape can love when the love expressed is not reciprocated. If we serve others for others sake, we will soon burn out and give way to frustration and depression. If we serve others for Christ’s sake, we can be like Paul who said I will gladly pour out every drop of my life for your sake whether you love me or not. All natural loves are conditional and none more so than eros. Long story short, be very good to your spouse and never take he or she for granted.

registration.BP 2014jpg

  • Half of the folks I have bumped into tell me they are going to be gone Sunday on vacation but thank God there is enough of us poor folks to hold the Fort. I think we are going to have a big day. I am excited about the FRONT PEW SHOWER for the Kid’s Closet. If I don’t forget it, I’ll have someone there videoing Sunday morning as you bring the stuff; I hope one pew will not hold the goods. I think my tweet paid off, I was told that DG got ransacked after I sent out the tweet.
  • Full slate Sunday: Deacons at 8:00, LCBS at 9:00, Celebrate Jesus in Worship at 10:15 and 6:00. The scratch sheet for Deacons and Trustees is in the foyer and will be there for next three weeks. I know it is unbelievable but the election is August 17…this year is flying.
  • AUGUST is Jerusalem Month but we have started early…get involved in one of the Jerusalem Project…Kids Closet, Paper Day, Block Party Visitation, Block Party.
  • We have one UTTERMOST project…CHILDREN’S CHEWABLE MULTI-VITIMANS. Wes Sterling donated money to this project…Thanks Wes…You can donate money are buy the vitamins and bring them to church. They go in the huge suitcase in front of the Communion Table.

 

ysam EXTRA

 

Michael Richards

Michael Richards

 

Michael Richards better known as Kramer from TV’s Seinfeld does make a good point. This was part of his defense speech in court after being charged for being a “Racist” because of racial comments in his comedy routine. He makes some very interesting points…

Someone finally said it. How many are actually paying attention to this? There are African Americans, Mexican Americans, Asian Americans, Arab Americans, etc. And then there are just Americans.. You pass me on the street and sneer in my direction. You call me ‘White boy,’ ‘Cracker,’ ‘Honkey,’ ‘Whitey,’ ‘Caveman’… And that’s OK…But when I call you, N____r, Kike, Towel head, Sand-nigger, Camel Jockey, Beaner, Gook, or Chink . You call me a racist. You say that whites commit a lot of violence against you….So why are the ghettos the most dangerous places to live? You have the United Negro College Fund. You have Martin Luther King Day.

You have Black History Month. You have Cesar Chavez Day. You have Ma’uled Al-Nabi. You have the NAACP. You have BET….If we had WET (White Entertainment Television), we’d be racists. If we had a White Pride Day, you would call us racists. If we had White History Month, we’d be racists. If we had any organization for only whites to ‘advance’ OUR lives, we’d be racists. We have a Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, a Black Chamber of Commerce, and then we just have the plain Chamber of Commerce. Wonder who pays for that? A white woman could not be in the Miss Black American pageant, but any color can be in the Miss America pageant. If we had a college fund that only gave white students scholarships… You know we’d be racists. There are over 60 openly proclaimed Black Colleges in the US. Yet if there were ‘White colleges’, that would be a racist college. In the Million Man March, you believed that you were marching for your race and rights. If we marched for our race and rights, you would call us racists. You are proud to be black, brown, yellow and orange, and you’re not afraid to announce it. But when we announce our white pride, you call us racists. You rob us, car jack us, and shoot at us. But, when a white police officer shoots a black gang member or beats up a black drug dealer running from the law and posing a threat to society, you call him a racist. I am proud…… But you call me a racist. Why is it that only whites can be racists?

 What do you think? Politically incorrect but great logic. You can go ahead and peg me as an angry white male, you know the ones who are the source of all our nations problems and the ones who foot 80% of the bill. Obama puts us down but not our taxes.
 
 

 
 
 
Leave a Reply

