Disappointed But Not Shocked!

July 6, 2014


celebrate Jesus

SCRIPTURE

On the way, Jesus told them, “Tonight all of you will desert me”… Peter declared, “Even if everyone else deserts you, I will never desert you.” Jesus replied, “I tell you the truth, Peter—this very night, before the rooster crows, you will deny three times that you even know me.” “No!” Peter insisted. “Even if I have to die with you, I will never deny you!” And all the other disciples vowed the same.

QUOTE

Make no vows to perform this or that; it shows no great strength, and makes thee ride behind thyself.

~Thomas Fuller

confession

Great LIFE CHANGING BIBLE STUDY lesson today on the faithfulness of God. It is difficult to think about His faithfulness without thinking about our unfaithfulness. It is  equally difficult to live a life without making some vows. A vow is a promise with an oath. I have heard them made and I have seen them broken and so have you. We humans are horrible at keeping promises. Take the disciples for example: they all pledged their life to Jesus but when the storm hit, they deserted Him. Of course Jesus knew all along they would all break their promise and run like frightened rabbits. I believe Jesus was disappointed but He was not shocked.

About 20 years ago I promised a 12-year-old boy that I would take him to Opry Land Theme Park before Summer was over. Summer got by me and I failed to keep my promise. He is a grown man now and every time I see him, I think of the broken promise and I wonder if he remembers. If he does remember, what does the memory bring to mind? Uncle Jack is a promise breaker! I hope he has forgotten because I cannot. I don’t understand why, I forget everything else.

EXTRA animated

  • We will be getting into Matthew 18 today Lord willing: it is a tough chapter, one I am tempted to skip.
  • The BLOCK PARTY offering is next week. Our goal is $2,000 and no individual can give over $100. You can, but they will only apply $100 to the goal. I guess this is as close as I get to throwing out a fleece but we are sincerely seeking God’s will, not yours or mine. We have one more week to pray and prayer is exactly what we need most. There are two kinds of people: those who act and those who are acted upon, which do you prefer to be? I want to be active but I don’t want to act without the LORD’s guidance.
  • It will be yours truly today…this morning THE WRONG QUESTION {Matthew 18:1-6} and tonight THE TAX PROBLEM {Matthew 17:24-27}. Teco Vargas from Guatemala will be with us next Sunday night July 13 at 6:00.
Leave a Reply

