Happy Father’s Day

June 15, 2014


 

celebrate Jesus Son of God

SCRIPTURE

Listen to your father, who gave you life, and don’t despise your mother when she is old.

~Proverbs 23:22, NLT

QUOTE

By the time a man realizes that maybe his father was right, he usually has a son who thinks he’s wrong.

~ Charles Wadworth

my thoughts red

Richard Milhous Nixon signed the legislation that made FATHER’S DAY a national holiday in 1972. The idea originated with Sonora Smart Dodd whose father William Jackson Smart, a veteran of the war of Northern Aggression, raised six kids after his wife died giving birth to the sixth. Mrs. Dodd spent a life time trying to get Father’s Day to catch on. She started promoting the day in 1910 but the news papers and congress were opposed to the idea. Eventually, the trade unions got involved in the lobbying process and got it passed. I have only one problem, I would like to see them move it to the third Monday of June. I love Monday holidays! Any who, have a happy Father’s Day.

GUATEMALA REPORT

0614141129a

Lucy Mae, Dena Faye, Haley Rae and Lori Jenay

Extra__logo-1_0

  • Todays schedule: B’fast 8:30, LCBS at 9:00 and worship celebration at 10:15, no pm service.
  • Jerry and Jimmy mother, Gwendolyn Segars had a massive stroke with severe damage. They did not expect her to live through the day. At the posting of the blog, she was still breathing but labored. This family has been hit hard lately, three deaths in six months.
  • Father’s day came early for me: my kids came over on Saturday and helped me clean around house and shop. Remember that beautiful green ivy I use to have, Sister pulled it up while I was at the hospital. Jerry said not to worry, it will come back.
  • Daddy looks tall in the picture but he was like 5’9″ but he was skinny until he quit smoking. He weighted about 135 most of his life but he could work. He was a worker and provider and I never knew just how many sacrifices he was making to provide for a herd, nine including himself. Daddy and I didn’t get along that well unless we were doing concrete and then I yielded to his expertise. I never became an expert at concrete and didn’t want to. When I first surrendered to preach, mother was elated but daddy was quiet. He never really said anything to me but several months after my decision, he made a radical change and became my number one supporter. As long as he was able you could count on him to show up at revivals or even at DBC once a month on Sunday night. Daddy like to go. He loved driving. He went to town twice everyday and three times on Saturday. June is no blood relations but she is a lot like him on the going. She goes to Krogers once a day and sometimes twice. The only difference was that daddy was a Winn-Dixie man and Big Mama loves Maw Kroger.
Eugene and Naola Bailey

Eugene and Naola Bailey

 

Homecoming 95

Homecoming 95

Leave a Reply

