Toughest Room In The Building

June 1, 2014


celebrate Jesus Son of God

SCRIPTURE

Meanwhile, friends, wait patiently for the Master’s Arrival. You see farmers do this all the time, waiting for their valuable crops to mature, patiently letting the rain do its slow but sure work. Be patient like that. Stay steady and strong. The Master could arrive at any time.

~James 5:7-8, MSG

QUOTE

Teach us, O LORD, the discipline of patience, for to wait is often harder than to work.

~Peter Marshall

my thoughts red

Have you been in a doctor’s office lately? Probably not but you have been in his waiting room. Very rarely do doctors let you in their office. All doctors have the same policy, “Sign in and sit, we will call for you.” They have their office, examining rooms, rest rooms, file rooms, receptionist rooms, but the toughest room in the building is the waiting room. Recently, I went to my stomach doctor for what I thought was a recheck. I’ve never been to see her that I did not wait an hour or more. I was on my way to Alva and Juanita Wayan’s memorial service. My appointment was at 2:00 and the service began at 4:00…plenty of time, right? At 3:00 p.m. I was still sitting in the waiting room where I had been reading but I had put all the magazines down at this point. I said to myself: “If they don’t call me by 3:15, I am out of here” and I meant it and I would kept my word to myself. About 3:10, they called me back and I had my speech prepared…”You came within 5 minutes of losing your 35$ co-pay.” It just so happened that I had been hurting for several days but it wasn’t something I could not live with. Before I could give her a piece of my mind, she poked me in the stomach and said…“You are hurting aren’t you?” “Not really,” I said, “Then why did you flinch when I touched your stomach?” “Well, I may be hurting a little,” I said. “I’ bet your are,” she said, “You’ve been out of medicine for two weeks” [my appointment had been rescheduled due to an emergency the time before]. “I thought I was through with the medicine,” I said, “No, you will be on this medicine for a year, you are not well, this is going to take time.”

Long story short, I got my prescription filled, got back on my medicine and stopped hurting. This is when the truth of my idiotic behavior hit me, what if I had left without seeing the doctor? She knew something I did not know and she had something I needed but due to my impatience, I came within a spat of causing myself a lot of needless pain. It took me too long to tell the story, I think you can figure out the moral on your on.

 

ysam EXTRA

  • June went by to check on Kenny yesterday because I was tied up and he has not had a good week. Pray for Kenny Holiday. Wanda Yarbrough, Cindy Tyson’s mom is not doing well either.
  • Deacon’s meeting at 8:00, LCBS at 9:00, Worship at 10:15 and 6:00. VBS worship rally rehearsal at 5:00.
  • Phase ONE of handicap ramp is complete, PTL. I want to thank the LORD for Gary Garner and all those who showed up to  help. The young adults were terrific. We finished at 1:41 yesterday. The guys worked through lunch without a break. Phase two is the catwalk. David Wood is supposed to be our team leader for this phase II but if he doesn’t shape up, I am thinking about firing him and replacing him with Freddie.

foghorn joke

Leave a Reply

