Good Deeds

May 24, 2014


celebrate Jesus Son of God

SCRIPTURE

 “Beware of practicing your piety before others in order to be seen by them; for then you have no reward from your Father in heaven.”

~Matthew 6:1, NRSV

QUOTE

 Doing good is not sin: it is the manner and motive that is in question.

~Watchmen Nee

my thoughts red

Some folks use this verse from the sermon on the mount as a proof text for passiveness. We cannot always do good deeds in the dark or in secret. When we do team projects, it is all but impossible to do them in secret. I do admit that when it comes to giving a person money, it would be best to do it secretly but you cannot cut yards in the dark or trim limbs or hedges. If you will study what Jesus said, it is the motive that is in question not the good deed. If someone needs help, you help them. You don’t worry about who is looking. The sin is to make a show of our good deeds, not be seen doing them. Eugene Peterson paraphrased Matthew 6:1 like this…“Be especially careful when you are trying to be good so that you don’t make a performance out of it. It might be good theater, but the God who made you won’t be applauding”. If your motive is to be noticed, appreciated and applauded by men, then you get no reward.

When something needs done,  my rule of thumb is to do it and not worry about motive or reward. I would be the first to admit I do not always know my heart or motive. I have done things thinking my motive was good only to realize later that is was not good. Your heart will play tricks on you so don’t sit on your backside until you are sure your motives are pure. If someone is in need and we lend a helping hand–two things happen: [1] They get the help they need [2] God gets glory because He created us for good works. I leave “the judging of the motive” to God. To be honest, I don’t think about rewards. If I had to guess, I would say, I don’t have many but my goal is not to pile up rewards. The way I look at it, if I do get a reward in heaven, it is icing on the cake. I get immediate joy here and now when I help some one. If I waited until I got all my motives sorted out, I would never do anything.

foghorn and cat

  • For those wanting warm weather, you got your wish yesterday. Good beach weather but a little too warm to pile brush.
  • Remember our Sunday Schedule…Worship at 10:15 and 6:00…We will have coffee, donuts, and biscuits in the Parlor around 9:30.
  • How is a preacher like a rooster? He is supposed to wake folks up! He does his job whether he gets appreciated or not. If he isn’t careful, he will be Sunday dinner.  Hey, you have to admit, the Rooster above is funny!
  • Don’t forget what Memorial Day is about! “We will Remember!”

memorial-day-clip-art-31

 

 

Leave a Reply

