Perplexity

May 9, 2014


celebrate Jesus Son of God

SCRIPTURE

We are hard-pressed on every side, yet not crushed; we are perplexed, but not in despair.

~ 2 Corinthians 4:8, NKJV

QUOTE

Never, never, never give up!

~Winston Churchill 

my thoughts red

In my opinion, Paul is the greatest Missionary in history.  God used him in extraordinary ways but even he confessed to being perplexed from time to time. Perplexity is the inability to deal with or understand something complicated or unaccountable. Have you ever been in the state of confusion or what about wits end [Psalms 107:27] where you don’t know what is what? Job spent several nights at wit’s end trying to sort things out but he never understood what was going on. He finally accepted the fact that God is God and we don’t have enough sense for His sense to make sense.  I am no Job by any stretch of the imagination; neither am I in the league of an Apostle Paul but I can identify with their perplexity. There are times when I don’t understand what is going on or why.  I like to read 2 Corinthians 4 in the modern translations. The CEV reads, “We often suffer, but we are never crushed. Even when we don’t know what to do, we never give up. In times of trouble, God is with us, and when we are knocked down, we get up again.” I think Paul and Churchill had some things in common: neither would quit or allow anyone else to discuss quitting. Churchill once said, “When you are going through hell, keep going.”

EXTRA animated

  • Checked on Kenny today: feeling fair. Did not have treatment on Wednesday, they rescheduled him for next week.
  • Mrs. Eloise Maddox a long time reader of the blog and Subscriber to the DIGEST is not feeling well and really has not felt well for a month or so. Please pray for Mrs. Maddox, she is one of the sweetest ladies I have known. She has always refreshed me. When I need a place to retreat and rest for a moment, I could always visit Jack and Eloise Maddox. She is top-notch!
  • I’ll try to do a phone message sometime today but I assume you know that we will not have a deacons meeting Sunday in honor of our Mothers and no pm service but we are having LCBS and I will [Lord willing] have the donuts and biscuits there by 8:30. Mandy sold a ton of roses so I am expecting a big crowd. We had a horde they played hooky on us last Sunday. I hope this Sunday is better.

 

Leave a Reply

