The Esau Syndrome

April 28, 2014


celebrate Jesus Son of God

SCRIPTURE

Do not love the world or the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him.
~I John 2:15

QUOTE

We surround ourselves with entertaining distractions so we do not have to think about physical death or eternity. We tranquillize ourselves with trivial pursuits.
~Os Guinness
my thoughts red
According to Visual Economics, the average American family spends 6.4% of their budget on entertainment which is almost twice what we give in contributions to all charitable causes [3.4%]. The most startling statistic to me is reading: American’s spend less .001% on reading material. It does explain our ignorance and why we would elect someone like Obama. If you are a season ticket holder for Alabama or Auburn Football, the cheap seats are $3,800.00 per year [for two] and that does not count gas to and fro or food. Over 64% of fans spend 40-75$ per game on concessions so you are talking $5,000 a year for Auburn or Alabama. This imbalance is not just an American problem, it is a Southern Baptist problem where giving has dipped to 2% per average member. We are entertaining ourselves to death while the world goes to hell in a hand basket. It is the Esau syndrome, absorb yourself so deep into entertainment that you do not have to deal with the real issues of life.
EXTRA animated
  • We were just a few short of our four in a row but we did have a good offering for the Guatemala Youth Mission Trip and we had two good services.
  • We got word last night {Sunday} that Mr. Truman Screws has been promoted. Mr. Screws were the Superintendent when we moved here in 1979. He taught the Senior Adult Men’s class for a few years before they moved to Hartselle. He was a good man. If Mr. Screws saw me at a restaurant, he always came by and got the tab. Trust me folks, this does not happen that often.
  • Everyone is giving bad weather…I sure hope they are wrong. I do not like tornadoes.

ysam EXTRA

Breaking News from Bobby in L.A….”Woman saves herself from Grizzly Bear with a 25 caliber Beretta Jetfire” [Amazing story]

grizzly-bear

Beretta
These are her own words.:
While out hiking in Alberta Canada with my boyfriend, we were surprised when a huge grizzly bear came charging at us out of nowhere. She must have been protecting her cubs because she was extremely aggressive.
If I had not had my little Beretta Jetfire I would not be here today! I yanked it out of my purse and fired one shot. It hit my boyfriend Jason in his kneecap and the bear caught him easily. While the grizzly mauled the poor cripple, I was able to escape by just walking away at a brisk pace.
I love that pistol. I’ll find other boyfriends.

 

Leave a Reply

