Consistency

April 24, 2014


celebrate Jesus Son of God

SCRIPTURE

But those who trust in the Lord will find new strength. They will soar high on wings like eagles. They will run and not grow weary. They will walk and not faint.

~Isaiah 40:31, NLT

QUOTE

The life of faith is not one of constant soaring like eagles but a day-in and day-out walk of consistency. The key is to keep moving and not faint.

~Oswald Chamber [Edited]

my thoughts red

Believe it or not, I ran Cross Country in college and on a team that never knew defeat. There are seven on a Cross Country team and only five can score but the sixth and seventh man can bump. Yes, I was the sixth or seventh man both years. I was not great by any stretch of the imagination but I could run multiple 6 minute miles and that is not easy. The good one could run sub 5:30 miles. When you are running distance, pace is essential. I was running the Jesse Owens some 30 years ago and some kid out of high school took out like a bat out of a cave. It takes a gifted runner to run a 5:30 mile pace and he sprinted into the lead. I passed him at the one mile marker, he was sitting on the curb. In a few minutes, he coming zooming by me again but I knew he was not going to catch the front-runners. Around the two-mile marker, I passed him again. He was bent over with hands on knees. A few minutes later and here he came again but not quite so fast. I passed him again at the four mile marker and never saw him afterwards. 

The key to a good testimony is consistency. Don’t worry about speed, just stay at it day-in and day-out. Don’t be an Alka-Seltzer Baptist: they make a big fizz and then fizzle out.

EXTRA animated

  • Senior Adults meet Friday in the Parlor: fish and puppies.
  • Deacon’s meeting Sunday
  • Men’s Breakfast on May 4 and no 8:00 meeting on MAMA’S DAY
  • Buy a Rose for Mama, on sale next two Sundays.
  • Mission Offering for Guatemala College and Career Mission Trip. I don’t know what our goal is: J.D. hasn’t told me. You can pay for a Guatemalan family a new house for $400. We just have to figure out how many they can build.
Leave a Reply

