The Highest Motive

April 22, 2014


 

celebrate Jesus Son of God

SCRIPTURE

If I could speak all the languages of earth and of angels, but didn’t love others, I would only be a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. If I had the gift of prophecy, and if I understood all of God’s secret plans and possessed all knowledge, and if I had such faith that I could move mountains, but didn’t love others, I would be nothing. If I gave everything I have to the poor and even sacrificed my body, I could boast about it; but if I didn’t love others, I would have gained nothing.

~I Corinthians 13:1-3, NLT

We preachers love to speak to people but do we love the people to whom we are speaking?

~Doug Simeral

[Doug is a retired IMB Missionary who spent 30 years in Africa. His dad Bill pastored both DBC and Shady Grove]

Blog strip

Paul makes four radical statements about agapēwhich I define as love from above. [1] Flawless oration without love is noise, [2] Possession of all knowledge would simply puff us up, [3] Earth moving faith without love would be another side show and [4] Giving even your life without love yields no profit. So, if I had the tongue of an orator, the mind of a genius, the faith of a miracle worker and the wealth of generous philanthropist and yet not motivated by the love of Christ, all would be vain and worthless.

EXTRA animated

  • Assumption is the mother of sins and I assumed something that I should not have: Mrs. Wayand did not pass away Easter as I assumed but they are planning a memorial service today for Alva and Wanita at 4:00 at St. Paul’s Lutheran Church in Decatur.
  • Still hearing good things about the service Sunday. I am thankful; I worried a lot for nothing, didn’t I?
  • Today is our deadline for the DIGEST and we have to get the GRACE BARN ready for Friday and VBS. This means that Mandy and I will be out of the office some both Tuesday and Wednesday. Call our cell phones.
  • SENIOR ADULT FISH FRY Friday at 11:30 in the Grace Barn we hope. Your option is dessert.
Poole Family is a cool Family

Poole Family is a cool Family

 

 

Leave a Reply

