The Olivet Discourse

April 16, 2014


Celebrate Jesus-forth1

SCRIPTURE

Later, Jesus sat on the Mount of Olives. His disciples came to him privately and said, “Tell us, when will all this happen? What sign will signal your return and the end of the world?

~Matthew 24:3, NLT

QUOTE

To embrace God’s love on a daily basis you must go back to the cross and from there, walk in fellowship with Christ.

~Dinnis Fisher

my thoughts red

We are trying to walk you through Holy Week which is something Baptist rarely do. When it comes to a day by day account, there are some things to which we cannot be certain. Passover came on the 15th day of Nissan and rarely did it fall on the seventh day of the week which was the Jewish Sabbath. Passover could fall on a Saturday but it could fall on any other day and it was followed by the Feast of Unleavened Bread which lasted seven days. If Passover fell on a Friday, you had back to back Sabbaths and for this reason some believe that Jesus was crucified on Thursday not Friday. Hey, I know too little to make an argument but I lean toward Thursday. So the Olivet Discourse either took place late Tuesday evening or Wednesday. Jesus had left the holy city and ascended the slopes of the Mount of Olives. The Temple was very visible from this point of view. The Mount of Olives is higher than Zion and you can look over the walls into Jerusalem. Plus the Temple is precisely in line with the Eastern Gate and the Eastern Gate faces the Mount of Olives. There Jesus sits and talks to His disciples about the destruction of the Temple, the siege and fall of Jerusalem, is second coming and the end of time.

Jesus is two days away from the most cruel death devised by man but you would not know it by His demeanor. Could you be focused on others if you knew you had less than 48 hours and knew that you would be tortured before death? I would be a basket case. I am pretty sure I would be no help to anyone. I love John Newton’s quote which expresses my sentiment exactly: “Although my memory’s fading, I remember two things very clearly: I am a great sinner and Christ is a Great Savior.”  I don’t have any problem with Jesus getting all the glory. In my opinion He deserves all the glory and you and I cannot praise HIM too much.

EXTRA animated

  • I dedicate this blog to Junior Hill, President of my board of directors for the EASTERN GATE MINISTRIES. It’s a long story but I almost caused a riot when we were in Israel in 1990. I think the details are in MY STORIES. If not they should be. If you want to make donations to the EASTERN GATE MINISTIES, you can send them to 1120 Ironman Road. You will not get tax credit and Big Mama will not give an account to how it is spent: that I can guarantee. You may as well may the checks out to her because she forges my name on a daily basis. I am kidding: no checks; no cash but we do except prayer.
  • This cold weather has me down but Big Mama says it is going to warm up today, PTL.
  • Normal Schedule tonight: Supper at 5:30, AWANA at 6:15, and the GATHERING at 6:30. I believe we would have REVIVAL if we could get 100 backsliding DBC members to come to worship on Wednesday night: what do you think?

 

  •  
Leave a Reply

