Abilities

April 6, 2014


Celebrate Jesus-forth1

SCRIPTURE

 “Again, the Kingdom of Heaven can be illustrated by the story of a man going on a long trip. He called together his servants and entrusted his money to them while he was gone. He gave five bags of silver to one, two bags of silver to another, and one bag of silver to the last—dividing it in proportion to their abilities. He then left on his trip.”

~Matthew 25:14-15, NLT

QUOTE

The key to happiness is to be content with the gifts God has given you.

~Yaakov

Blog strip

God has given all of us natural gifts or abilities but to some He has given more. Some are able to do one thing well while others are able to do many things well. Every now and then you have a David who not only does well but excels in many things. David wrote the 23rd Psalm over 3,000 years ago and it remains the most popular poem in history. I have my doubts that another man of his talents and abilities has been created. If he was not in a class all to himself, it doesn’t take long to call roll.

The key to happiness is not to envy the David’s of this world but to be content with what God has given you. When we are discontent with our abilities, we begin to covet the abilities of others and this leads to envy and jealously. Those who focus on what they do not have become bitter whereas those who focus on what they have and give thanks become better. I wish I could sing but God did not give me the ability but this does not keep me from loving music. Not only do I enjoy listening to gifted singers, I praise God for giving them such wondrous gifts.

ysam EXTRA

  • Our plate is full today: Deacon’s meeting at 8:00, LCBS at 9:00, Worship Celebration at 10:15 [possible baptism], Celebration of Life Service for Aunt Cora at 2:00 and then our Sunday night celebration at 6:00. We’ll be talking about the Miracle of Jesus feeding 4,000 Gentiles this morning plus women and children and then I have something special planned for the PM service. Keith and John, if you are out there, I have been missing you and I am getting discouraged: I need some back up.
  • June left me a to-do list Friday and I turned it into a to-don’t list because I got engrossed in my study and forgot all about what I was supposed to do but the GOLDEN GIRLS turned out without a phone tree reminder. Our next meeting in May 3rd. We want to thank Felton never lost for words Cooper for buying our breakfast and your biscuits today. It would not hurt a thing to thank him. Hey, I was going to give the GOLDEN GIRLS the summer off but they voted to meet year round.
  • Shohn and I got the details worked out for Palm Sunday: the Egg Hunt will be at 4:30, the worship celebration at 6:00 and Pizza to follow. The entire event will be kid friendly.

Leave a Reply

