Loneliness

April 3, 2014


celebrate Jesus Son of God

SCRIPTURE

Remember that your Christian brothers and sisters all over the world are going through the same kind of suffering you are.

~I Peter 5:9, NLT

QUOTE

God’s remedy for loneliness is intimacy – meaningful, open, sharing relationships with one another. In Christ we have the capacity for fulfilling this sense of belonging which comes from an intimate relationship. When all other relationships fail, our relationship with Him will not unless we neglect it ourselves.

~Yaakov [Adapted from Neil Anderson]

Blog strip

I use the internet for getting and dispersing information. I have never had an on-line relationship; not to my knowledge. I don’t do chat rooms. I understand from my reading that on-line relationships are common and lonely people are especially vulnerable. The experts tell us that these virtual relationships drive people to a deeper depression and loneliness. The interesting thing to me is the motivation: why would a person use the social media to establish a relationship with someone who is total stranger?

The answer is we are driven by a sense of WONDER! We wonder if anyone really knows us or has a desire to know us. We wonder if anyone understands how we feel and the greatest wonder of all, does anyone really care? The solution to your loneliness is not a virtual relationship but a vertical relationship. Jesus knows you better than you know yourself. He knows the number of hairs on your head. He not only knows intricate details about you, He understands everything you are going through and sympathizes with your human condition. As far as someone caring, watch the Passion Of Christ. He cares, the cross is proof of His love.

Extra__logo-1_0

  • I don’t normally address the same subject as OUR DAILY BREAD but yesterdays devotion got me to thinking and I could not help myself. I have a true story that fits the theme but it would take to long so I will post it on MY STORIES someday, LORD willing.
  • GOLDEN GIRLS meet Saturday at 9:00 at Cracker Barrel.
  • Sunday schedule is normal beginning with Deacon’s meeting at 8:00.
  • Baseball season is on: I have more places to be Saturday than I can be.  Ty and Josie have games at West Park and I sure that Big L has a game somewhere. I got to study some on Monday and Tuesday, PTL.
Bailey Bunch at Jose' in Pigeon Forge

Bailey Bunch at Jose’ in Pigeon Forge

 

Leave a Reply

