Listening To God

March 31, 2014


celebrate Jesus Son of God

SCRIPTURE

And the LORD came and called as before, “Samuel! Samuel!” And Samuel replied, “Speak, your servant is listening.”
~I Samuel 3:10, NLT

QUOTE

Just remaining quietly in the presence of God, listening to Him, being attentive to Him, requires a lot of courage and know-how.
~Thomas Merton
Blog strip
When I think of great intercessors, five names come to mind: Abraham, Moses, Job, Samuel and Elijah. All five had one thing in common, they spent a lot of time in solitude. Moses spent 40 years on the back side of nowhere; in total isolation. Samuel was raised in church, literally: he slept in the sanctuary. Job spent months, possibly years as a homeless person living among the jackals and Elijah was the Phantom Prophet who was rarely visible and had an infinity for caves. Speaking to God is the easy part; hearing God speak to us is where most of us fail. Sometimes it takes hardship, isolation, suffering and time alone to cultivate a sensitive ear to the voice of God. Make no mistake, God is speaking. The question is: are we listening?
Extra__logo-1_0
  • God is good. He is full of mercy and grace and I praise Him. It is always a blessing to get to present the gospel. I didn’t check a thing before leaving last night. All I know is that the Gideon offering was over $1,200.00 which is good. Kevin does a good job. He has been with us for two years in a row.
  • I needed a retreat and I appreciate my children encouraging me to take one. I am thankful for several things about home. We don’t have as much traffic here as they do in Pigeon Forge and I love Charter Internet. I really struggled last week because the internet was so slow. I guess I had taken Charter for granted.
  • I am also thankful for all the green I am seeing in the grass and trees; spring is upon us and it is refreshing.
  • I’m not much of a sports fan these days but I am tickled that we have two SEC teams in the final four and the Big-Ten [Yankees] have only one. I would love to see an all SEC final. Don’t you know that would thrill the folks above the Mason-Dixon.
  • Holly sent me the wrong pic last night, this is Pearl in her official NASCAR.
Hope in her NASCAR

Pearl Kevin Havareck

Holly Waltrip

Holly Waltrip

Lolo Labonte

Lolo Labonte

Hannica Kilpatrick

Hannica Kilpatrick

Bobby in L.A.

Check out this Video

People Are Crazy

Leave a Reply

