Inferential Knowledge

March 29, 2014


celebrate Jesus Son of God

SCRIPTURE

In My Father’s house there are many dwelling places; if there were not, I would have told you.

~John 14:2, Williams

QUOTE

I believe hundreds of Christians have no assurance of their salvation simply because they are not willing to take God at His word.

~Dwight L. Moody

Blog strip

There are two kinds of knowledge: [1] Experiential and [2] Inferential. I have been to the Great Smoky Mountains many times: I know there is a town named Pigeon Forge and it has a NASCAR track, a replica of King Kong climbing the Empire State building and many other attractions. I know that you could spend $1,000 there in a New York minute. I have experienced the Smoky Mountains personally. I know they exist.

I have heard of Alaska all my like. I was 10 years old when Alaska became a state. I have seen pictures and videos of Alaska but I have never been to Alaska. Do I believe in Alaska? Certainly, I am sure there is an Alaska. My assurance of Alaska stems from my inferential knowledge not experiential. I believe there is an Alaska because I have been told so by reliable people whom I trust.

I’ve heard about heaven all my life. I’ve never been there but I have the word of a very reliable source that heaven is a real place. Do I believe in heaven? I sure do, what about you?

Extra__logo-1_0

  • John Howard Payne knew what he was talking about…”Be it ever so humble, there’s no place like home.” Sweet Home Alabama! Good week, good time and God was gracious to give us traveling mercies. I am going to post a top ten on Interstate etiquette. I believe there were a million people in Sevier County this week and another two million on the interstate.
  • I’ve always wanted to go to a NASCAR race and I got to see one on Thursday. Lexi Bonnet took the checkered flag, or would have had not her mama or aunt got black flagged. Sister is an avid racer, she does what ever it takes to move up a position but Lexi had the pole advantage and never gave it up. Lara made it close. T was in the back of the pack but worked her way to third. Hope got hit from the rear but she promised them she would not sue. It was a sight for sore eyes. Long story short, I enjoyed my week with my kids and grandkids. We had them all but Seth who had to work.
  • Remember, we begin with LCBS in the morning: no 8:00 am meetings.
  • We have a double extra: Men, you will love the stuff Bobby sent me at the very bottom: Double Extra
Pearl Kevin Havawreck

Pearl Kevin Havawreck

 

Hannah Earnhardt

Hannah Earnhardt

Lexi Bonnett

Lexi Bonnett

Lara Busch

Lara Busch

Extra__logo-1_0

Men Are Just Happier People — From Bobby in L.A.
 
What do you expect from such simple creatures?
Your last name stays put.
The garage is all yours.
Wedding plans take care of themselves.
Chocolate is just another snack.
You can never be pregnant.
You can wear a white T-shirt to a water park.
You can wear NO shirt to a water park.
Car mechanics tell you the truth.
The world is your urinal.
You never have to drive to another gas station restroom because this one is just too icky.
You don’t have to stop and think of which way to turn a nut on a bolt.
Same work, more pay.
Wrinkles add character.
Wedding dress $5000. Tux rental-$100.
People never stare at your chest when you’re talking to them.
New shoes don’t cut, blister, or mangle your feet.
One mood all the time.
Phone conversations are over in 30 seconds flat or less.
You know stuff about tanks.
A five-day vacation requires only one suitcase or less.
You can open all your own jars.
If someone forgets to invite you,
You don’t give a rip and they are still your friend.
Your underwear is $8.95 for a three-pack.
Three pairs of shoes are more than enough.
Everything on your face stays its original color.
The same hairstyle lasts for years, even decades.
You only have to shave your face and neck.
You can play with toys all your life.
One wallet and one pair of shoes — one color for all seasons.
You can wear shorts no matter how bad your legs look.
You can ‘do’ your nails with a pocket knife.
You have freedom of choice concerning growing a mustache.
You can do Christmas shopping for 25 relatives
On December 24 in 25 minutes.
 
Home Run Bobby!
Leave a Reply

