Overwhelmed

March 21, 2014


celebrate Jesus Son of God

SCRIPTURE

At the same time the Spirit also helps us in our weakness, because we don’t know how to pray for what we need. But the Spirit intercedes along with our groans that cannot be expressed in words. 

~Romans 8:26, GWT

QUOTE

“The more you pray, the more you will find yourself saying to yourself, ‘I don’t know how to pray.'”

~S.D. Gordon

Blog strip

I’ve been reading S.D. Gordon’s QUIET TALKS ON PRAYER and a chapter a day is all I can handle. Usually, I read a few lines and then get so convicted I have to pray. I was delighted yesterday when I came across the above quote on page 153. I was really beginning to get discouraged; I came across the quote just in time. Here are Gordon’s Six Suggestions on how to pray.

  1. You must have an unhurried quiet time.
  2. You must have a private and particular place to pray. A place where there is a door you can shut.
  3. You must have your bible. It is your spiritual headset. God speaks most often through His word.
  4. You must pray in the Spirit, the Holy Spirit.
  5. You must pray in Jesus name. [Three reason: [1] He is our only access [2] He is our heavenly Intercessor [3] He is our victory over Satan. The devil hates to hear His name.]
  6. You must pray in faith: faith that is [1] Intelligent [2] Obedient [3] Expectant [4] Persistent

Extra__logo-1_0

  • Yesterday turned out to be a beautiful day. As I carried the DIGEST to Alabama Mail, I had to let the window down in the truck. Thank YOU Jesus for these beautiful Spring days. Yesterday was the first day of Spring.
  • Ralph Glenn had surgery on Wednesday and was supposed to come home yesterday but did not get released. I have the SAFE meeting this morning, then a COLS and then I will make my way to Huntsville LORD willing.
  • Lexi had a walk-off single last night that won the game…now for the rest of story, we were in the home half of the 4th with a runner at second and two outs. The runner at second was our 15 run and the opposition had none. When Lexi drove her in, the Umpires called the game with Lexi standing on first saying, “What is happening.”
Leave a Reply

