Love Gives

March 17, 2014


celebrate Jesus Son of God

SCRIPTURE

For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.

~John 3:16, NKJV

QUOTE

You can give without loving but you cannot love without giving.

~Amy Carmichael

Blog strip

Love is spontaneous. When a person is in love, he or she does not sit around and think of ways not to give to the one they love. Lovers have what Mother use to call the “Can’t Help-its”. Love will find a way to give where as lust finds a way to get. If it does not give, it is not love.  I read the other day that there are four motivations for giving. I think there may be more but see what you think about these four:

  1. We give because of the person who ask us to give. {Like a grandchild}
  2. We give emotionally. We give out of pity or compassion when we see a need.
  3. We give conditionally: we give so long as the money is spent on a certain thing or in a certain way.
  4. We give to an organization we trust like a Church or a charity.

Paul said in I Corinthians 13, “If I gave everything I have to the poor and even sacrificed my body, I could boast about it; but if I didn’t love others, I would have gained nothing.” So this much we know, if our giving is not motivated by love, there is no reward.

Extra__logo-1_0

  • We have readers out of the community and so for their benefit I want to inform you that the young lady Dana who we have been praying for was promoted Sunday morning around 10:00 am. We will continue to pray for her family. I will pass along any arrangements as soon as I know them. Dana was a beautiful woman with a sweet spirit and an avid love for Jesus. She was loved deeply and will be missed severely but the one thing we are thankful for is that she was a believer and her suffering is over.
  • David and the Band had a stellar day: the music was great. I started to have the third song replayed last night. I really felt the Spirit moving. I think it is called “Oceans”. Sloan and Brian did it last Wednesday and it has been in my head since. I love Sunday night. I didn’t ask Gregg but I know we had over 100. The Pizza Fellowship was a sensational hit. It may be our last one for a couple of months: we have conflicts in April and May.
  • There are two things that I would bet the farm on tonight: DBC was the only Church in Morgan County to dedicate Triplets yesterday and the second thing is that no one has a Sunday night service like we do. At DBC, you never know.
Shipley-Meade Triplets...Eli, Sellers, and Walker

Shipley-Meade Triplets…Eli, Sellers, and Walker

dagburndimmycratvarmintbenghazi

Leave a Reply

