The Fox

March 14, 2014


celebrate Jesus Son of God

SCRIPTURE

Jesus replied, “Go tell that fox that I will keep on casting out demons and healing people today and tomorrow; and the third day I will accomplish my purpose.”

~Luke 13:32, NLT

QUOTE

Any time we open ourselves up to fear, we fall prey to the devil’s deceptions and intimidations.

~Francis Frangipane

COMMENTARY

I am thankful for Luke 13:32 because it proves Jesus was not politically correct. He refers to Herod as a Fox and it was not a compliment. The fox is a clever animal known for being sly, crafty, wily, deceitful, mischievous and sometimes destructive. The fox is not big, it is not intimidating to humans. No one is afraid of a fox unless it has rabies. Matter of fact, you are not likely to see a fox often because they are afraid of humans. In our culture, the term fox or foxy refers to an attractive woman but that was not the connotation in Jesus day. Jesus was calling Herod a sly, crafty, cowardly, man fearing, mischievous devil.

red-fox2

The Red Fox

The real point is found in verse 31…At that time some Pharisees said to Jesus, “Get away from here if you want to live! Herod Antipas wants to kill you!The wicked Pharisees were attempting to intimidate Jesus by using Herod’s political power as a threat. I wish I could have been there as Jesus laughed in their faces. “Do you guys expect me to run from a fox; are you kidding me? You go tell Herod that I am going to keep on doing what I was sent to do until I have fulfilled my purpose which will culminate in a resurrection.” [JEV] As a general rule, it is not wise to respond to intimidation. The only fear that is not of the devil is fear of God. Herod was no threat to Jesus and Jesus knew it!

Extra__logo-1_0

We received word that Dana Segars had to return to UAB due to shortness of breath. I am asking everyone who reads the blog to stop and say a prayer for Dana. She is a sweet girls with a lot of faith but this has been so hard on her and her family. I do wish you would say a prayer for them. I don’t have many answers; to be honest, I am overwhelmed at my ignorance but I am convinced of this, the answers we are looking for are not coming in this world but they are coming. Pray and let the Spirit guide you. I had a few other things but I deleted them; they don’t seem that important at this moment.

Leave a Reply

