Utterly Astounded

March 10, 2014


celebrate Jesus Son of God

SCRIPTURE

As the boy came forward, the demon knocked him to the ground and threw him into a violent convulsion. But Jesus rebuked the evil spirit and healed the boy. Then he gave him back to his father. Awe gripped the people as they saw this majestic display of God’s power.

~Luke 9:42-43, NLT

QUOTE

“Although my memory’s fading, I remember two things very clearly: I am a great sinner and Christ is a great Savior.” 

~John Newton

THOUGHT

Every time I start a new translation, I think to myself, “I’m not going to like this one,” and every time I am wrong. I am reading the Williams Translation which comes highly recommended by the late Ron Dunn. It does not have verses but in the passage above, when Jesus cures the boy of demon possession, the Williams translation said, “So they all continued to be utterly astounded at the greatness of God.”  I like it, I like it a lot: the crowd saw God’s glorious power in Jesus and they marveled, they were filled with wonder, they were awestruck, astonished, amazed, overwhelmed, and impressed with the majesty, mercy and might of our Savior. There are not enough adjectives in the English language to scratch the surface when it comes to describing the infinite greatness of the LORD Jesus Christ. Hallelujah, what a Savior.

Extra__logo-1_0

  • I love Sunday night church. I love meeting together with the church family: adult, youth and children. Didn’t those kids do great last night. I knew they would: I didn’t have any doubts. The kids are not the problem if you get my drift.
  • I didn’t check the boards but I do know this: we had $8,500.00 pledged to the wheel chair ramp. The entire amount came from two families in our church who I am sure want to remain anonymous. Personally, I think it is the icing on the cake; God’s go sign. Where He guides, He provides, amen. If someone comes to me tomorrow and pledged $50,000.00, then I would say He is leading to do an in wall elevator. Personally, I am thrilled with the $8,500.00.
  • The time change is tough, especially in Spring but I do like getting home from church before dark. I don’t know why, we have headlights on the car, for some strange reason I just like getting home before dark.
  • Lord willing, I’ll be checking on our Senior Adults today: we have a lot that are struggling physically. Ralph and Roger have been battling arthritis, Leon has two or three issues going, Bobby has good days, bad days and Gary and Joyce have a sick grand baby.
  • Two beautiful days in a row: I hope we make it three.

DBC Kids

Mylee and chloe

Leave a Reply

