Embodied Spirits!

March 7, 2014


celebrate Jesus Son of God

SCRIPTURE

Then the Lord God formed man of dust from the ground, and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life; and man became a living being.

~Genesis 2:7

QUOTE

Man is a spiritual being; an embodied spiritual being.

~S.D. Gordon

COMMENTARY

The thing that separates man from all other creatures is that he is an embodied spirit. Vegetables have a body but they do not have a soul or spirit. Animals have a body and soul but no spirit. Man is the only creature created in God’s image with a spiritual capacity to worship and commune with God. Paul said to the Ephesians believers, “Pray at all times in the Spirit.” The only way we can pray effectively is in the Spirit. Prayer is a spiritual force. This means that through prayer we are unbound by our physical limitations. If I have a sick person in Birmingham and another in Nashville; it is obvious that I cannot be in two places at the same time but spiritually through prayer I can be in both. Our greatest power while living in these bodies is prayer.

If you lack a desire to pray, buy a copy of S.D. Gordon’s Quiet Talks On Prayer. If you can finish a chapter without stopping to pray, I will reimburse you for the price of the book. I just looked across my desk a couple of weeks ago and there lay of copy of Gordon’s book: I don’t even know how it got there. I have never read a book [other than bible] that convicts me to pray like this book.

Extra__logo-1_0

  • Remember, we spring up one hour Saturday night.
  • No Deacons meeting this Sunday.’
  • Joe David is preaching Sunday morning and I am preaching Sunday night on “Going Overboard.”
  • We have a new format for Sunday night. I think you will like it.
  • Joe David had 13 in the College Bible Study Thursday [today or yesterday, according to when you read the blog]
  • You may not want to read this: it is my personal reflections on the time change. My biggest problem is the “Change” are changing. I wish we would pick out one or the other and stay with it. I understand this is what Tennessee is doing this year. They are going to stay on daylight saving time. I think it would work in Alabama but most school proponents fight it tooth and nail. They don’t want buses running in the dark but that already happens on long routes, at least for the first few who catch the bus. Start school at 9:00 instead of 8:00 and let out at 3:00. That is long enough for kids. Some oppose this because they say the school is a baby sitter for working parents. It is not right but there are lots of kids home alone now. I just hate the changing back and forth. I usually do good in the winter and struggle in the summer but I struggled through the winter this time so I hate to see what I’ll do this summer. I’ll be doing the blog at night most likely.

Leave a comment