To Be Loved

March 4, 2014


celebrate Jesus Son of God

SCRIPTURE

For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.

~John 3:16, NKJV

QUOTE

I knew that somewhere “out there” God loved me but I struggled emotionally to feel His love in a personal way. I knew that Christ died for me but He dies for everyone else too.

~Christy Bower

COMMENTARY

I think most of us understand where Christy is coming from: the very concept of God loving all of us is overwhelming and there are times when His love does seem so infinite that it cannot be personal. The reason a young lady searches for a young man and vice versa is our human longing to be loved uniquely. We want to be loved by someone who loves us more than they do anyone else. Jesus died for me but He also died for you and billions of others. How can a love so infinite and inclusive be personal?

First of all, things that are impossible with man are possible with God. Not only can He love everyone without partiality, He can love us personally and uniquely. Study the lives of those who were in Jesus company on earth and you will see that each had a unique relationship with our LORD. No one loves you like Jesus. Your love for Him is also unique. You love Him in a different way than you love your spouse, children, family or friends. When He created you, He made you unique and no one else in creation has the same genetic make up and conditioning. It is that uniqueness and His infinite ability that makes His love for you special and unlike any other in the entire universe. There are no clones, no duplicates: God is not a cloner or a duplicator–He is a CREATOR.

Seven billion people on earth, all different. Only God knows how many billions of stars are floating around in space and no two are alike. How many septillion snow flakes have fallen–all unique. Our God is an awesome God!

EXTRA

  • Folks, I don’t know what is up with this posting. I did it the same way I always do but it kept posting the web page instead of the blog. If it does this again, just scroll down on the blog roll and click on Bro. Jack’s Blog.
  • If we go to the movies as a group again, I am sitting by Floyd. I love the Geico Camel and I also like the lizard. When the camel came through the theater, I thought it was hilarious but no one in my section laughed other than me. I was so embarrassed. I heard later that Floyd laughed, good for her! I  would love to have that camel come to DBC and work as a greeter. That bird knows everybody.

Geico Camel

Leave a Reply

