Prayer and Motivation

March 1, 2014


Celebrate Jesus 

SCRIPTURE

But you, when you pray, go into your room, and when you have shut your door, pray to your Father who is in the secretplace; and your Father who sees in secret will reward you openly.

~Matthew 6:6, NKJV

QUOTE

The greatest thing any one can do for God or man is pray.

~S. D. Gordon

COMMENTARY

S. D. Gordon says that the “Power in giving money depends wholly on the motive in back of the money.” I think the same is true with prayer. Where there is much prayer, there is much power if the motive in back of the prayer is to glorify God. To simply ask for power would be as vain as most of the other prayers we say. I am afraid that most of my praying comes under the James 4 heading… You don’t have what you want because you don’t ask God for it. And even when you ask, you don’t get it because your motives are all wrong—you want only what will give you pleasure.

EXTRA

  • I am blessed. I got to begin my day with two text messages from friends reminding me that they were praying for me yesterday. I am a prayer glutton. I love it when people are praying for me. One of my co-workers use to say, “You just love the attention, any kind.” I don’t know what my motives are but I do appreciate and need prayer.
  • SENIOR ADULT LUNCHEON went great. I want to thank Big Mama, Sheila Jo and Mandy for making the soup and I do commend all of the Seniors for those OUTSTANDING desserts. You believe what you want but I am telling you: the best meal in the North Alabama yesterday was at Danville Baptist Church and it was free. All my Reuben’s were eaten or taken. I had a hard time keeping Mandy and Joe David out of them! KIDDING! 
  • MEN’S BREAKFAST in the morning at 8:00: Bacon, sausage, grits, gravy, eggs and biscuits. [Coffee, milk and OJ]
  • SON OF GOD: Sunday evening at 2:20 at Carmike in Decatur.
  • Our prayers are with Shohn and company: she is a great worker folks and I told her this “LOCK-IN” is above and beyond the call of duty. Parents, you need to appreciate this woman: she is a gift from heaven.
  • GOLDEN GIRLS next meeting is March 8th, a week from today.
  • Lara and Lexi are in a softball tournament and they played yesterday evening [Feb. 28] and the wind was cold. Their second game was last night at 8:30 and I thought it would be much colder but I think it warmed up. Turned out to be none-factor, got called for rain. We are supposed to get in high 50’s today and 60’s tomorrow. I am excited! [Just 19 days to Spring and 20 till Spring Break]
SENIOR LUNCHEON

SENIOR LUNCHEON

Leave a Reply

