Agapē

February 26, 2014


celebrate Jesus

SCRIPTURE

If I gave everything I have to the poor and even sacrificed my body, I could boast about it; but if I didn’t love others, I would have gained nothing.

~I Corinthians 13:3, NLT

QUOTE

Jesus loves you and there is nothing you can do about it.

~Junior Hill

COMMENTARY

The Greek is a more exact language than English: they have four words for love and word Paul uses in I Corinthians 13 is agapē which is a divine and unconditional love. In the natural world, some people return good for good and evil for evil. If you compliment them, they compliment you: if you criticize them, they criticize you. Then there are some who return evil for good. You compliment them but they criticize you. As Christians, we are to be different: Jesus taught us to return good for evil. We love those who hate us. We bless those who curse us. Agapē  loves regardless to cost or consequence. It is not a need love but a self-sacrificing love. It gives rather than takes; it creates rather than destroys; it is not motivated by our goodness or beauty but it seeks to bring out the goodness and beauty in others. It turns the cheek when insulted; it does not seek its own; and it does not demand its rights. Briefly stated, it loves the way Jesus loved.

EXTRA

  • They are giving snow, can you believe it?
  • Supper tonight at 5:30…Remember you have to call by 10:00 a.m.
  • Blondi Morris [Tracey and Bev mom] was 87 yesterday…the fam threw her a party. I missed the party but I made a short visit. She is looking good.
  • SAFE this Friday in Parlor…Soup, Salad and Sandwich. Potato Soup and Chili, Salads and I will be making Ruebens and Ham and Cheese Sandwiches. Meet in the Parlor at 11:30.
  • Our Blogs are done on WORD PRESS and it is based in England. I assume the posting is on their time because I can post anytime after 6:00 pm and it is dated for the next day.  I have gotten into a bad habit of staying up late and getting up late. Which means I post the blog the night before. As of posting time, Sammy Jo was still in labor. Pray for Sammy Jo and Dana. Stop and say a pray for them right now!
More snow or NO snow!

More snow or NO snow!

Leave a Reply

