One Another

February 23, 2014


revival banner

Today…10:15 and 6:00

Nursery and Children’s Church both Services

Pizza Party after evening service!

Mike and Crystal

With Mike and Crystal Mason

[It is OK, they are married, to each other.]

SCRIPTURE

Let us continue so to consider one another as to stimulate one another to love and good deeds. Let us stop neglecting our meeting together, as some do, let us continue to encourage one another, and all the more because you see that the great day is drawing near.

~Hebrews 10:24-25, Williams

QUOTE

When you ox is in the ditch every other Sunday, you need a new ox.

~Dr. T. Ray Keenum

COMMENTARY

Preachers: you have a good three point sermon in the above scripture…

  1. Consider one another

  2. Stimulate one another

  3. Encourage one another

The wordconsider’ is the same word that Jesus used in Luke 12:24, “Consider the ravens.” It means to study and observe closely with the intent of seeing the needs of others. We have a very sweet and precious daughter-in-law and one of her many gifts is to observe. She sees things others miss because she is observant. Most of us miss the needs of others because we are preoccupied with ourselves. The word stimulate’ is very interesting. It is used only twice in the N.T., here and in Acts 15:39 where Paul and Barnabas had a sharp disagreement. The word stimulate means to incite, to stir up or to fire up. Paul got fired up in Acts 15:39 and so did the easy-going Barnabas. Have you given any thought as to how you could get folks fired up about Jesus, church attendance or good deeds? The third word is ‘Encourage’ and it comes from the Greek word  parakaleō which many of you recognize. This is the same root word used in reference to the Holy Spirit. It means to stand alongside or to call along side. Here Paul associates it with worship attendance. I am calling you today to stand alongside myself and others in worship. The fallacy of modern thinking is that church attendance is optional. We are Baptist, a people of grace and we do not get brownie points for attending worship, we go to heaven via the blood of Christ. Whereas this is true, it is also true that it is a sin to neglect the church [body of Christ] when it meets unless you are involved in a ministry of mercy elsewhere or providentially hindered. Mark my word, your absence is discouraging someone. It is very possible that it is discouraging a great number of people. Is it your desire to discourage others? I am not ashamed to confess that my Mother stimulated me not only to do good deeds but also to attend worship regularly. I could not have forsaken the assembly without discouraging her.

To do these three things: observe, stimulate and encourage, we have to give preference to others.

EXTRA

  • Hard to believe but today is last day of winter quarter and we will be issued our spring literature in LCBS. Our lesson today could not have come at a better time, “If God is good, why is there suffering in this world?” In a national survey, people were ask…”If you could ask God one question and get a direct answer, what would you ask? The number one question was “Why do people suffer?” It is also true that the number one argument raised by atheist is the mystery of suffering. They deduce….Suffering means that God is either impotent or indifferent or none existent. If He is powerful enough to stop suffering and does not, He cannot be a good God. We are people of faith: like Job we believe in God although we cannot explain or understand the mystery of suffering.
  • Rayburn Waldrop, Adam’s dad was promoted on Thursday  February 20 at the age of 65. Rayburn was a good man, a very hard worker and conscientious father. I missed the opportunity to talk to Rayburn recently. He was very sick last year and on life support when I visited him. He did recover to return home but I didn’t realize that my widow of opportunity would close so quickly. I like Rayburn. He helped me with some electrical work years back. He was a generous man: he would literally give you the shirt off of his back. He came from a family of 13 and 7 have survived Rayburn. Can you imagine 13 children? My grandmother Blackburn had 11; my mother had 8 but 13 borders  on the incredible. Visitation is tonight 6:00-8:00 at Elliot’s in Moulton. COLS in Monday at 2:00. I got my info from Big Mama; if it is wrong, we will blame her. Works for me!
  • I attended a COLS at East Limestone yesterday evening and afterwards I met a delightful woman: she is my nephew-in-laws aunt. I was there to encourage my niece and nephew and their two lovely children. This would be my brother John’s grandchildren. This beautiful woman heard someone mention my name and she said, “Where is he, I want to meet Jack Bailey” and she came over and gave me a hug. I was dying of curiosity, I said, “How in the world do you know me? You must be a subscriber to the DIGEST.” She said “no but we get it from a friend; as soon as she reads it, she brings it too us. I tell people all the time, Jack Bailey could write for Hallmark Cards or anyone else and I love your humor.” That is when her rude husband interrupted by saying, “He’s not that funny. Some of his jokes are corny.” She said, “Maybe so, but I like them.” He’s just jealous. So I want the world to know that I have two fans, two avid fans: Mrs. Minnie Payne and Mrs. Jason Schrimsher. That’s right, her husband’s name was Jason. [JK]
  • We will have three offerings today: our ministry offering will come first and then we have two for Mike and Crystal. If you intended to give to the LEARNING CENTER in El Tahar and didn’t get it in before today, just give it to Mandy. She has another $1,000 to mail tomorrow. Keep in mind as you give today that Mike helped us close out our last two Block Parties and it was gratis. Our BP fund was empty. You always come through and I have every confidence that today will be no exception.
  • If you don’t like the new picture of Mike and Crystal call out Contributing Editor Teddy Turrentine at 1-251-533-9740. Call anytime, day or night. He is a Turrentine: they don’t require sleep.
  • Can those in heaven see what’s going on here? I don’t know but I do know that Kenneth would be very proud of his grand children. We attended the DIXIE FLAVOR concert last night and those boys can play and they make it look easy. Apple phones do not make good pictures as you can see.
Dixie Flavor Blue Grass

Dixie Flavor Blue Grass

CELEBRATE JESUS

Leave a Reply

