The Father’s Love

February 21, 2014


PrayingForRevival2

This Sunday with Mike and Crystal Mason

Mike and Crystal are singing in both service and Mike will be doing the preaching.

Two services: 10:15 am and 6:00 pm

Nursery and Children’s Church both services.

Michael Mason

Michael Mason

SCRIPTURE

Our Father in heaven, Hallowed be Your name.

~Matthew 6:9, NKJV

QUOTE

Our only business is to love and delight ourselves in God.

~Brother Lawrence

COMMENTARY

IMG_0103Our Heavenly Father is awesome: we cannot fathom His infinite greatness and His ways are beyond our finite ability to grasp. Sometimes I feel like a blind man stumbling my way through a room full of furniture; I can’t make heads or tails out of what’s happening. Wednesday I came home from church after a long and exhausting day. I had received two messages that my emotional system interpreted as bad news. I was feeling low. I walked through the door and sitting in her Big Mama’s lap was our 18 month old Chloe. Immediately, she hollows ‘nandaddy, and down she comes and runs to me. She always gives me a firm hug by laying her little head on my shoulder but generally, it last only for seconds. It sounds strange but she was content to lay on my shoulder. The warmth of her child-like love gave me a much-needed lift. I wrapped her up in a blanket and we went outside and sat in the swing. She loves being outside. She sat on my lap and laid her little head against my chest and she never moved. It is unusual for Chloe not to move. Big Mama accused me of putting her into a trance.  I have no idea what she was thinking. I was just pleased that she was content to set their quietly and absorb some of Granddaddy’s grief. She sat there for 30 minutes and didn’t move.

Some things are obvious: I love her and she loved me. Of course her love is very childish and immature but I don’t care; I cherish her infant love. She was a blessing to me and she wasn’t even aware of what she was doing.  It put me to thinking: Chloe doesn’t understand me, she doesn’t have a clue about what’s going on in my heart. It would be impossible for an 18 month old to understand the complexities and anxieties of an adult. Then the truth hit me–there is a greater gap [in terms of understanding] between my Heavenly Father and me than there is between Chloe and me. I can’t possibly understand His infinite ways but I do know He loves me and I love Him in my childish and immature way. If a granddaddy can glory in the love of a grand child who understands very little about reality; is it possible for our Heavenly Father to glory in our love for Him.

EXTRA

  • I had a good visit with Dana yesterday, the child is remarkable. She hadn’t gotten any good news this week but she has handled everything with grace and nobility. I do expect all of you to pray for Dana Segars. If you feel obligated to me for any reason now is the time to pay me back. I want you to pray for her and for Jimmy and Sandra.
  •  Sammy Jo and Aaron did not get good news: there are lots of complications, multiple medical issues. They need our prayers also.  
  • I wish I knew a funny story that would make us all laugh: can’t think of one today and Jason says, “Thank You.” I will say this, a very young intelligent man who reads the blog made a comment to one of the deacons, Bro. Jack is funny, I love his humor.” “For goodness sakes” said our deacon, “Don’t tell him you think he is funny. He is not funny. The only time he is funny is when he’s not trying to be funny.” Bottom line: it takes an intelligent person to catch my humor: sometimes it’s very subtle. I think the young guy is right; I crack myself up sometimes!  Jason’s response: “Shoot me or better still, shoot him.”

ATT00057

CELEBRATE JESUS

One Response to “The Father’s Love”


  1. Your are only funny when you don’t try…

Leave a Reply

