The Privilege Of Priesthood

February 14, 2014


PrayingForRevival2

With Michael Mason

February 23

SCRIPTURE

One day Zechariah was serving God in the Temple, for his order was on duty that week. As was the custom of the priests, he was chosen by lot to enter the sanctuary of the Lord and burn incense. While the incense was being burned, a great crowd stood outside, praying.

~Luke 1:8-10, NLT

QUOTE

What a privilege to carry everything to HIM in prayer!

~Joseph Scriven

COMMENTARY

There were 24 divisions or orders of Levitical Priest. Each order served two weeks per year. If my math is right, that would be 28 services [one after dawn and the other before dark] conducted in the two-week span. This means that 28 different Priest could burn incense inside the sanctuary. The problem was: even in David’s lifetime, there were more priest than their were services so they cast lots to see which 28 would get to serve. Zechariah was chosen by lot to burn incense. This was a once in a lifetime opportunity for a priest. In other words, it was a privilege. Burning incense is the equivalent to prayer. Think about how excited Zechariah was over getting to burn incense: are we that excited about getting to spend time with the LORD in prayer. What a privilege to carry everything to Christ in prayer! Aren’t you glad that Jesus made us priest and grants us access anytime day or night?

EXTRA

  • Strange week…I kept feeling like yesterday was Friday. The snow was beautiful but I’m going to have to join ranks with Mandy, Seth and Jeff: I am ready for some sunshine. Our yard is a swamp. We could use a little drying out. I’m not complaining, just thinking out loud.
  • All I’ve done this week is study/teach and play in the snow for an hour or so yesterday. So I really don’t know what going on. I have enjoyed the extra time to study. For all my conservative friends, I have a recommendation–AMERICA THE BEAUTIFUL by Ben Carson [www.zondervan.com]. I’m on chapter 3 and I have enjoyed it thus far. There are people who are trying to get Dr. Carson to run for president. So far, I like what I read and hear about him.
Ray's Cottage

Ray’s Cottage

Celebrate Jesus!

Leave a Reply

