Hopeless and Helpless

February 11, 2014


PrayingForRevival2

February 23….10:15 am and 6:00 pm

With Michael Mason

SCRIPTURE

You were dead because of your sins and because your sinful nature was not yet cut away. Then God made you alive with Christ, for he forgave all our sins. He canceled the record of the charges against us and took it away by nailing it to the cross. 

~Colossians 2:13-14, NLT

QUOTE

We owed a debt we could not pay: Jesus paid a debt He did not owe.

~Anonymous 

COMMENTARY

We were dead in trespasses and sin; we were utterly defeated and powerless to break the shackles of sin. We had no way of facing the charges against us. Our condemnation was certain and we had no power to save ourselves, no means to atone for our sins. Then Jesus left the glories of heaven and condescended to our lowly estate: He lived the perfect life that we could not live and then He took our sin list, all the charges against us and He wiped the slate clean with His blood. Our sins were nailed to the cross which means they were properly executed. In one powerful blow, the Almighty Christ struck the enemy in the face and broke his grasp, setting us free from death and hell. I can’t think of one good reason why Jesus should suffer hell and die for me. That’s what makes His grace so amazing: it is totally undeserved and unexpected.

Paul said Jesus disarmed the spiritual rulers and authorities. He shamed them publicly by his victory over them on the cross. Our sin is forgiven and our enemies disarmed: what more could we ask. Hallelujah, what a Savior.

EXTRA

  • Got to Athens and back without snow: now we will wait and see what happens. I have mixed emotions. My grandkids really want snow and so do some adults I know. I hate for them to be disappointed but I am also enjoying the Bible Study at Sardis Springs. We or I, had a wonderful time last night.
  • I stopped at Walgreens last night to get June some cough medicine and as soon as I walked in, a guy said can I help you and I said, “Sure, I always need help. Where is the cough medicine?” He took me straight to it. I thought, “They must know who I am.” When I got to the check out I realized they were trying to close and I had slipped in about a minute until 9:00. The guy was just trying to get rid of me.
  • It’s getting close to 1:00 am and no snow. It does not look good for the kids.

family-fun-snowball-fight-by-dmguz

Leave a Reply

